Leitrim are Connacht Junior Champions

Leitrim captured their first Connacht Junior Football Championship title since 1962 after a nail-biting final in Carrick-on-Shannon on Friday evening. Michael Foley and Jimmy Holohan were inspirational for Leitrim who led 0-7 to 0-6 at half-time.

Early in the second half, Leitrim extended their lead to five points, before Roscommon started to push forward strongly in the last ten minutes. A late goal for Roscommon left the Leitrim supporters on the edge of their seats, but Leitrim held on to record the victory.

Photographs from the match are available in the gallery.

Leitrim: Kevin Ludlow, John McWeeney, Barry Prior, Barry McWeeney, David Duignan, Pauric McGarry, Francis Holohan, Daniel Lowe, Dermot Kennedy, Johnny Goldrick, Donncha Lynch (0-1), Michael Foley (0-7, 4f), James Glancy, John McGuinness, James Holohan (0-3). Subs: Jimmy Guckian (0-1) for John McGuinness, Ciaran Kennedy for John McWeeney, Pauric Flynn for Barry Prior, Noel Doonan for Johnny Goldrick.

Roscommon: Darren Lennon, Denis Gavin, Brian McNeela, Robbie Kelly, Stuart Daly, Ian Kilbride, Sean McDermott, Michael Finneran, Roch Hanmore, Cormac Sheehy (0-4), Enda Kenny, Martin Connolly, Darragh Blaine (0-1), Paul Moran, Jarlath Egan (0-3). Subs: Enda Barratt for Brian McNeela, Ross Nolan for Paul Moran, Mark O’Carroll for Michael Finneran, Garvan Dolan (1-0) for Martin Connolly, Paul Freeman for Robbie Nolan.



16-May-04 by Paddy Reilly