Leitrim Minor Team to Play Sligo

All Leitrim supporters travelling to Carrick on Sunday are encouraged to arrive early and support the Minor team as Leitrim Manager Gerry McLoughlin believes that the County Minor side have a great chance of glory this Summer.

The Leitrim boss points out that the Connacht Minor League campaign was ?mediocre? and predicts that his charges will be much improved come the start of the championship next Sunday.

?The League was very mediocre for us. I suppose we started on a high with a victory over a good Sligo team that had won the O?Donaghue Shield. We were nine points down against Mayo but came back to within four points. Against Galway, we made a few mistakes but there was only four points in it. The RoscommonÓgame was forgettable. But as you know, League is very different from Championship and we have a very young team that you can see improving day by day in training,? said Gerry.

The following is the Minor Team to play Sligo on Sunday at 1:40pm.

1 Anthony Mulvey – Ballinaglera
2 Conor Reynolds – Eslin
3 Dermot Reynolds – Annaduff
4 Jason Conroy – Bornacoola
5 Trever Farrelly – Aughavas
6 Paul Ellis – Fenagh
7 Ciaran O Flynn – Manorhamilton (Captain)
8 Stephen Conaty – Mohill
9 Paul Early – St Marys
10 Ronan Kennedy – Mohill
11 Cathal Egan – Aughnashellan
12 Ray Mulvey – St Marys
13 Gavin Sammon – Aughnasheelin
14 David O Connor – Bornacoola
15 Garry Reynolds – Carrigallen

Gerry also called on the Leitrim supporters to come out in force for the Minor game – ?I know there are no household names like you would get in the Senior team. These young lads are the future and we need the Leitrim supporters to be out there early. If we can get a good start, the support will make a huge difference.?

Leitrim Minor Manager:
Gerry Mc Loughlin – Mohill

Liam Higgins – Eslin
John Joe Beirne – Drumkeerin
Michael Clancy – St Marys



20-May-05 by Brendan Doyle