2005 Leitrim Football Awards

The recipients for the 2005 Football awards have been announced and are as follows:

Hall of Fame: [b]Mick Kilkenny[/b]

Mick who resides in Dublin is originally from Aughavas and he played for Tully (Carrigallen) some moons ago. He captained the Leitrim team to an All Ireland Junior (home) title in 1938.

County Player of the Year: [b]Chris Carroll[/b] (Kiltubrid)

Becoming a legend in his own time, Chris has clocked up many years with the County team. He is the current captain of the senior team and is normally found to be wearing the number 8 jersey as he leads his team-mates in pursuit of success.

County Club Player of the Year: [b]Enda McKeon[/b] (Kiltubrid)

Enda McKeon has proved to be a likely opponent for many a forward in Leitrim and he is very deserving of this award for his commitment to club football with Kiltubrid. Like the rest of his team-mates Enda has also enjoyed winning his first ever Senior Championship medal this year.

Referee of the Year: [b]Raymond McBrien[/b]

Ray started refereeing 3 years ago and has gone from strength to strength as 2005 saw him referee 5 prominent finals including Junior Championship, Senior League, Ladies Senior Championship, Minor League and School Boys Final.

Congratulations to our very worthy recipients !



07-Dec-05 by Brendan Doyle