Leitrim Scór Finals

[b]Leitrim Scór Finals [/b]

The Leitrim County Finals of Scór Sinsear took place Saturday night in the Bee Park Centre in Manorhamilton. There was a big crowd present and a wonderful night?s entertainment on stage.

The big winners on the night were the Aughnasheelin and Bornacoola clubs who won three titles each. The other two winners were Glencar/Manorhamilton and Leitrim Gaels.

The winners in [b]Figure Dance[/b] were [b]Glencar/Manorhamilton[/b]

In [b]Solo Singing, Ann Whitne[/b] y from [b]Leitrim Gaels[/b] was the winner. This was a historic win as it was Leitrim Gaels first ever county title in Scór at any level.

[b]Instrumental Music[/b] was won by [b]Aughnasheelin[/b]. This was Aughnasheelin?s first time ever to win the Music title.

[b]Recitation[/b]: The winner was [b]Bornacoola?s Aidan Dockery[/b]

[b]Aughnasheelin[/b] won the [b]Ballad Group[/b] title for the seventh successive year. Indeed Aughnasheelin have reached the All Ireland Final for the last three years.

In [b]Trath na gCeist, Bornacoola[/b] took the title with a narrow win over neighbours Annaduff.

[b]Aughnasheelin[/b] won their third title of the night in [b]Novelty Act[/b]. It is thirty years since Aughnasheelin last won a Novelty Act title in Leitrim.

Finally the [b]Rince Seit[/b] went to [b]Bornacoola[/b]. Bornacoola were famous for their set dancers in the 1980s and 1990s so it was wonderful to see them back winning a county title again.

[b]Club na Bliana[/b]: The club of the year award went to the [b]Bornacoola[/b] club who were represented in seven of the eight events in the County Final.

[b] The Connacht Finals are in Tubbercurry on Sunday 26 March. [/b]



13-Mar-06 by Sean O Suilleabhain, Leitrim Scor