Big Day Preview

Big Day Preview?.

This Sunday is the big day for four clubs in Leitrim as Drumreilly and Carrigallen compete for the GWP Intermediate Cup and in the Senior game it?s the battle royal between Mohill and St. Mary?s for the Masonite Senior Ellis Cup.

Three of the teams have had 2 weeks to prepare since their semi-finals with St. Mary?s having only one week as they had to overcome Allen Gaels in the semi replay last weekend.

The games are scheduled for Cloone with the Intermediate throw-in at 2:30pm and the Senior at 4:15pm. Eamon O?Grady is the referee for the first game while Francis Flynn has beenÓgiven the honours for the 2006 Senior final.

Large Crowds are expected in Cloone so patrons are advised to arrive early as parking spaces are limited in the vicinity of the grounds.

[b]GWP Intermediate Final ? Drumreilly v Carrigallen ? 2:30pm ? Cloone:[/b]

Two neighbouring clubs will battle it out for the title, the cup and the right to play Senior championship in 2007. This will be a very interesting game as both teams have performed well in the league this year with Carrigallen, who play division 2, the only team in the county not to have lost a league game.

Experience will count in this bout and with that Drumreilly have the power house of county players John McKeon and Declan Maxwell, Carrigallen have county star Noel Lyons and minor player of the year in 05 – Gary Reynolds. Other notable players for Drumreilly are Francis and James Holohan while Carrigallen?s Noel Nash in defence and Benny O?Rourke in the forwards have a bit of cut about them.

[b]Drumreilly Panel:[/b]
Adrian McGirl, Brian Mitchell, Ciaran Holohan, Cormac Maguire, Damien Holohan, Damien Mitchell, Damon Maguire, Declan Fee, Declan Maxwell, Francis Holohan, Graham Taylor, Hugh Joseph Maguire, James Holohan, John Fee, John McKeon, Kevin Holohan, Killian Maguire, Mark Fee, Matthew Fee, Michael Holohan, Michael McGirl, nÓgel Maguire, Oliver Maguire, Pat Donohoe, Raymond Fee, Sean Fee, Warren Maguire

Manager: Pat Donaghue
Selectors: Hugh Joseph Maguire, Jimmy Holohan

[b]Carrigallen Panel:[/b]
Andrew McManus, Benny O Rourke, Charles McGuinness, Ciaran Flynn, Ciaran Harte, Cliff Richardson, Darren McGovern, David Flynn, Derek Mulligan, Derek Reilly, Dermott Mulligan, Eamon Dolan, Eamon O Malley, Enda Lyons, Garry Reilly
Garry Reynolds, Gerry Tighe, Hugh Magee, JP McManus, Karl Ward, Killian Ward, Martin Dolan, Mick Tighe, Noel Doonan, Noel Nash, Ossie Morrow, Peter Donaghue, Ray Reilly, Rory Harte, Terence Reynolds

Manager: Gerry McLouglin
Selectors: John Reilly, Seamus O?Rourke, Brian Doyle, Martin Doyle

[b]Masonite Senior Championship Final ? Mohill v St. Mary?s ? 4:15pm ? Cloone:[/b]

Two town based teams and one man the main link between the two such is the story of this Senior final. Mohill have been waiting 32 years to win a Senior final and in 2006 they have played very exciting fast football en-route to Cloone. St. Mary?s likewise have been a force to be reckoned with and with ex-Mohill Manager Matt Gaffey they have turned in some very impressive performances this year. From the start of the 06 season both teams set out their stalls with Mohill only conceding 3 games in the league and St. Mary?s two.

On to the championship and Mohill had a very tough group stage against Melvin Gaels and Kiltubrid, while St. Mary?s had to contend with Sean O?Heslins and Gortletteragh. Both teams won convincingly in the Quarterfinals with Mohill beating Sean O?Heslins and St. Mary?s disposing of Melvin Gaels. The Semi?s saw Mohill take the win with the last kick of the ball against last years finalists Bornacoola. St. Mary?s had to have a second go at it to get past Allen Gaels.

Mohill have the experience of no less than 5 county players while St. Mary?s have 4. But it?s not just about county players, both teams have an excellent bench to call on and each position on the field is justified.

Ground conditions may play a part, the weather this week is not conducive to fast football and Cloone is getting a severe soaking in the days leading to the game. Who can deal with the conditions? who can deal with the hype of a big game? who wants it the most? The answer to these questions will determine the result.

[b]Mohill Panel:[/b]
Barry Lupton, Brian Beirne, Christopher Higgins, Ciaran Kennedy, Colin Murphy, Colm Beirne, Colm Conway, Daniel Beck, Darren McLoughlin, Derek Canning, Gavin Kelly, Gerry Cosgrove, Gerry Scollan, Joe Britton, John McCrann, John McGuinness, Martin McDermott, Michael McGuinness, Niall McGonern, Pascal McKeon, Paul Bannon, Paul Earley, Paul McDermott, Paul McLoughlin, Philip McGuinness, RonanÓgallagher, Ronan Kennedy, Seamus McCrann, Shane Canning, Stephen Conaty

Manager: Tommy McCormack
Selectors: Pascal McKeon, Sean Kennedy

[b]St. Mary?s Panel:[/b]
Conor Daly, Fergal Reynolds, James Glancy, Antony Conway, Barry Butler, Brendan Guckian, Brian O Donnell, Colin Mc Weeney, Cormac Greene, David Crowe, Dermot Reynolds, Donal Kennedy, Donal Mc Loughlin, Finton Cox, Gene Bohan, Ian Mc Greevey, James Keane, James Mc Gowan, Jimmy Guckian, Johathan Cassidy, Johnny Goldrick, Micheal Greene, Niall Comerton, Paul Mc Greevy, Vincent Mc Dermott, Brian Duignan, Clement Cunniffe, Francis Molloy, Paddy Guckian, Padraig Mc Weeney, Raymond Mulvey, Robert Lowe

Manager: Matt Gaffey
Selectors: Alan O?Shea, Ciaran Reynolds, Kevin O?Rourke



06-Oct-06 by Brendan Doyle – PRO