Connacht Senior Club Hurling Championship

Connacht Senior Club Hurling Championship

St. Mary?s 1 ? 13

Tubbercurry 1 ? 9

St. Mary?s scored a fully deserved win over Tubbercurry in Sunday?s hard fought Connacht Club hurling first round championship game in Kilcoyne Park, Tubbercurry.

A goal by Stephen McManus for St. Mary?s in the seventeenth minute gave the Carrick-on-Shannon side a victory cushion for the remainder of the exchanges.

Despite the absence of Nicky Rackard All Star, Paul Severs, who got married on Friday, Tubbercurry were always in the hunt but were never able to turn the tables on St. Mary?s.

St. Marys next outing will be on the weekend of November 4/5 when their semi-final opponents will be the winners of the Athleague/Ballyhaunis Connacht Club quarterfinal..

St. Mary?s: Packy Phelan, Shane Cardiff, Niall Glancy, Sean Walsh, Vincent McDermott, James Keane, David Tiernan, Clement Cunniffe 0 ? 7, Dana Regan 0 ? 1, James Glancy 0 ? 1, Breian Carroll 0 ? 3, Tom Cronin, Martin Coles, Donal O?Grady 0 ? 1, Stephen McManus 1 ? 0. Subs Padraig McWeeney for O?Grady (31 mins.), Bernard Murray for Cardiff (47 mins.), Fergal Carroll for Coles (55 mins.).

Tubbercurry: Michael Gorman, Alan Henry, Jarlath Burke, BrendanÓgannon, Kevin McDonagh, Mark Burke 0 ? 6, Daniel McDonagh, Brian Walsh 0 ? 1, Brian Curran 0 ? 1, Dara Severs, Shane Kerins, Barry Brennan, Ray Kilcoyne 1 ? 0, Ronan Haughey 0 ? 1, Fabio Cretaro. Subs Dermot Walsh for Brennan (49 mins.), Tom Bruder for Kilcoyne (53 mins.), Alex Wimsey for D. McDonagh (59 mins.).

Referee: Eoin O?Shaughnessy (Galway).



23-Oct-06 by PJ Leddy