AIB Connacht Club Semi-final

Corofin 1 ? 11
Mohill 1 ? 02

Corofin proved much too good for Leitrim champions Mohill in a one sided Connacht Club Semi-final in Cloone on Sunday.

Mohill made life reasonably difficult for Corofin for most of the first half as it took the Galway side quite some time to get to grips with their Leitrim opponents.

Defences were on top early on with the result after the first quarter Kieran Comer for Corofin and Colm Beirne for Mohill had only swapped a point each.

Mohill took the lead for the first an only time in the showdown when Seamus McCrann shot a point in the seventeenth minute.

A Trevor Burke goal for Corofin in the twenty-eight minute put the Galway men ahead by 1 ? 2 to 0 ? 2.

Kieran Comer added two points to put Corofin further in front by 1 ? 4 to 0 ? 2 at the interval.

When Stephen Conaty shot a spectacular goal nine minutes after the restart it looked like that a Mohill comeback was on the cards.

But Corofin took total command for then on hitting seven unanswered points before final whistle with Gary Sice finding the target twice while David Morris, Emmett Killeen, Aidan Donnellan, Kieran Comer and Thomas Costello added a point each.

Mohill were reduced to fourteen players before the end when Seamus McCrann was dismissed for two yellow card offences.

Corofin: Glen Comer, Gary Delaney, Kieran Fitzgerald, Padraig Kelly, Kieran McGrath, Damien Burke, Gary Sice 0 ? 2, Aidan Donnellan 0 ? 1, Greg Higgins, David Hanley, Kieran Comer 0 ? 4, Alan Burke, Trevor Burke 1 ? 0, David Morris 0 ? 2, Alan O? Donovan. Subs Emmett Killeen 0 ? 1 for O?Donovan (37 mins), Shane Conlisk for Delaney (42 mins), Thomas Costello 0 ? 1 for Morris (55 mins), Shane Monaghan for T. Burke (57 mins), James Lardiner for McGrath (61 mins).

Mohill: John McCrann, Paul McLoughlin, Michael McGuinness, Niall McGovern, Darren McLoughlin, Colin Murphy, Ciaran Kennedy, Shane Canning, RonanÓgallagher, Colm Beirne 0 ? 1, Daniel Beck, Shane Conaty 1 ? 0, Seamus McCrann 0 ? 1 , Philip McGuinness, John McGuinness. Subs Paul McDermott for D. McLoughlin (ht.) Paul Bannon for P. McLoughlin (ht.).

Referee: Peter Carney (Roscommon).



13-Nov-06 by PJ Leddy