Leitrim Dinner Dance & Awards night

Leitrim GAA will honour the heroes of 1956 and 2006 on Saturday night at the Annual Dinner Dance in the Bush Hotel, Carrick-on-Shannon. The 2007 Leitrim Supporters Club will also be launched during the night. Proceedings get under way at 8pm, tickets cost ?40 and are available from County Board officers.

The Leitrim team won the 1956 Connacht Minor Championship, the countys second ever Provincial title, and went on to provide two members of the Leitrim GAA team of the Millennium in Captain Josie Murray and legendary forward Paddy Dolan.

The Leitrim Ladies team of 2006 will be honoured for their success when they receive their Connacht medals. The Ladies won their first Connacht Junior title in seven years in 2006 and reached their first All-Ireland Final since 1988. They were pipped by Sligo in Croke Park but enjoyed a successful year that also saw them contest the National League Division 3 final last May.

The annual award winners from the various boards will also be honoured with former County Board Manager Michael McGowan receiving the Hall of Fame award.

[b]The 1956 Leitrim Minor Team was:[/b]
Willie Joe McWeeney – Leitrim
Jimmy Clyne – Jamestown
Tom Fallon – Dromahair
Padraig McGloin – Melvin Gaels
Seamus Fallon – Drumkeerin
Noel Haydon – Bornacoola
Patsy Heslin – Cloone
Jimmy O Donnell – Sean McDermotts
Michael McGarry – Bornacoola
Patsy McIntyre – Mohill
Frank Canning – Mohill
Liam Foran – Drumshanbo
Paddy Dolan – Ballinamore (Millennium Team)
Laurie Feehily – Sean McDermotts
Josie Murray – St. Marys (Millennium Team)
Patsy Conboy – Mohill
Brian Nangle – Drumshanbo
John Joe Noone – Jamestown
James Braden –
Noel Mulhern – St. Marys
Francis Rocky Clyne – Mohill
Frankie McGowan – Dromahair

Secretary – Tommie O Riordan
Treasurer – Jack McNally

[b]2006 Award Winners:[/b]

[b]County Board[/b]

Hall of Fame
Michael McGowan – Gaeil na Meilge

County Player of Year:
Colin Regan – Gaeil na Meilge

Club Player of Year:
Brendan Guckian – Naomh Muire

Club Grounds of Year:
Acadh na Sileann

Referee of Year:
Tom Forde – Baile na gCleireach

[b]Coiste na nÓg[/b]
Minor Player of Year:
Tomas Beirne – Eslin

U16 Player of Year:
James O Brien – Glencar-Manorhamilton

Referee of Year:
Noel Flynn – Drumkeerin

[b]Ladies Board[/b]

Services to Leitrim Ladies Football:
Deirdre Quinn

County Player of Year:
Mairead Stenson – Mohill

Senior Club Player of Year:
Annette Donnelly – Cloone

Intermediate Club Player of Year:
Aishling Cooke – St. Josephs

Intermediate Club Player of Year:
Sinead McLoughlin – Fenagh

[b]Hurling Board[/b]

County Hurler of the Year
Stephen Feeney – Glencar Manorhamilton

Club Hurler of Year:
James Keane – St. Marys

Young Hurler of Year:
David Tiernan – St. Marys

[b]Handball Board[/b]

Martin Raftery – Drumshanbo

David Fallon – Drumkeerin

Marie Byrnes – Drumkeerin

Donal Wrynne – Fenagh



18-Jan-07 by Brendan Doyle – PRO