Leitrim Scór na nÓg Finals – report

Apologies for delay in report, it disappeared in cyberspace for a short while !

Scór never fails to produce the goods and on a night of thrills at the Leitrim Scór na nÓg Finals in Manorhamilton on Sunday last, the high point of the night was when eight-year-old Aaron O?Donnell of Aughnasheelin was declared winner of the Recitation competition. Aaron brought the house down with his rendering of ?The Carnaross Farmer? and he must surely be the youngest ever winner of a county title in Leitrim Scór na nÓg.

There was wonderful entertainment in all competitions and the pity was that only one could proceed to Connacht on Saturday week next.

Rince Foirne

Carrigallen, Sean O?Heslins. Glencar/Manorhamilton and Drumreilly were the competing clubs and it would be risky to predict a winner. The adjudicators went for the very experienced group from Sean O?Heslins. This was their third year in a row to win this competition and two years ago they won in Connacht as well.

Amhrana?ocht Aonair

Four great solo singers: Aisling Sammon from Aughnasheelin, Rachel McLoughlin from Mohill, Aisling Maxwell from Se?n O?Heslins and Ursula McGuinness from Annaduff. The winner was Ballinamore?s, Aisling Maxwell. Aisling won the Leitrim title three years ago and did very well to win it again.


There was some great music from the St Mary?s, Melvin Gaels, Dromahair and AughnasheelinÓgroups, but once again the Ward sisters, Niamh, Orla and Lisa took the title. It was their third year in a row also to win the title, but this year without their sister Yvonne who is now overage.


In the recitation section Aughnasheelin?s Aaron O?Donnell stole the show but there were also great performances from Bl?ith?n Donaghue from St Josephs (Carrigallen), Amy Costello from Mohill and Niamh O?Malley from Carrigallen. In other years any of them could have won the title.

Bail?ad Ghr?pa

Four good and varied ballad groups from Mohill, Eslin, Sean O?Heslins and St Mary?s. Last Year St Mary?s won and were unlucky not to get through in Connacht. They looked the best again and the adjudicators were in agreement and so they get another crack at the Connacht title.

Trath na gCeist.

This was a real cliff-hanger. There were five teams on stage: Bornacoola, Annaduff, Eslin, Aughawillan and Fenagh. There was a tie for first place between Fenagh and Bornacoola. When teams are tied, three questions are given to try and separate them No less than five rounds of tie-breakers had to be given in order to separate them with Fenagh winning it. Fenagh also won this competition last year.


Last year Sean O?Heslins won the Leitrim Novelty Act title and went on to win in Connacht and the All Ireland. The difficulty with Novelty act is that you must come up with a new act each year. This year they were faced with good acts from Mohill, Drumreilly and Fenagh. O?Heslins were declared winners once again and with their record in Connacht they will have hopes of going further.

Rince Seit

For the last six years one of the joys of Leitrim Scór na nÓg was watching the progress of the Fenagh Set Dancers. They won six county titles in a row and for the last four years they won the Connacht title as well. The great disappointment was they never got the final one: the All Ireland. This year some of last years group were overage and so Fenagh had to start all over again. How remarkable and pleasing it was then to see the Fenagh club putting a group together and taking the title despite some strong performances from Se?n O?Heslins, Aughnasheelin, Aughavas and Ballinamore.

Club of the Year.

The Cormac Mac Giolla Shield for Club of the Year went to the Carrigallen club for putting in such a remarkable effort this year. It was a wonderful; night compered by an excellent Fear-a-T?, Karl McCartin. The medals were presented to the winning items by Cathaoirleach of Leitrim Co Board, Gerry McGovern. The Connacht Finals take place in Claremorris on Saturday week, 20 January, starting at 3.00pm.



14-Jan-07 by Scor PRO