Leitrim Scór Finals

Manorhamilton has become the choice venue for Leitrim Scór Finals and it was another great occasion on Saturday last with a full house and great entertainment for the audience. Five clubs shared the list of winners with Glencar/Manorhamilton, Aughnasheelin, Bornacoola getting two each and Dromahair and St Caillin’s one each.

Rince Foirne

Bornacoola, St Mary’s and Glencar/Manorhamilton were the contenders and the old reliables, Glencar/Manorhamilton, won again with Ciara Flynn, Amanda Sweeney, Nicole O’Hara, Louise Loughlin, Emmet McMorrow, Michael J Rooney, Aidan McLoughlin and Shane Connaire doing the dancing.

Amhranaíocht Aonair

Dromahair, Sean O’Heslins, Leitrim Gaels and Aughnasheelin were represented in Solo Singing and Aughnasheelin’s Sinéad Egan won the Leitrim title for the fourth time in recent years.

Ceol Uirlise

There were three groups in the music, Aughnasheelin Dromahair and Bornacoola. Dromahair’s group of Sean Conlan, Stephen McInerney, Ann Conlan, Brid Donaghue and Noel McMahon repeated their success of two years ago.


There were new faces in this competition with Bornacoola, Aughawillan, St Osnatts and Glencar/Manorhamilton involved and a new winner with Louise Staunton winning for Bornacoola. Thus Bornacoola retained the title won last year by Aidan Dockery.

Bailéad Ghrúpa

After their victory in the All Ireland Finals in Killarney last year, Aughnasheelin had just there of last year’s group on stage: Brendan Sammon, Sinéad Egan and Síle McNulty. This year they were joined by Fiona and Shane McNulty and they won again ahead of Bornacoola, St Mary’s and Glencar/Manorhamilton.

Trath na gCeist

One has to back as far as 1989 to find any club other than Bornacoola and Sean O’Heslins winning the Question Time. Since O’Heslins faded off the scene Bornacoola are now the strongest in the question time and they won well ahead of St Caillin’s, Glencar/Manorhamilton and St Mary’s. Bornacoola’s team was: Aidan Dockery, Liam Rabbitt and Fergal MacGiolla


This was probably the most exciting competition of the night with four very original and well constructed acts from Aughnasheelin, St Caillins, Bornacoola and Dromahair. Fenagh, with their All Ireland experience from two years ago to boost them were worthy winners again. Their actors were: T P McLoughlin, Betty Doonan, Séamus Mollaghan, Shane O’Rourke, Kevin Doonan, Martin Doonan, Eileen Doonan and Maureen McLoughlin.

Rince Seit

There was good entertainment here also with Bornacoola, last years winners, Glencar/Manorhamilton, Aughnasheelin and St Caillins involved. The winners were Glencar/Manorhamilton.

Club of the Year

The award went again to Bornacoola, as they were the only club to enter in all eight competitions at the semi final stage. The award was presented by Gerry McGovern, Cathaoirleach of the Co Board to Martina Hackett, Bornacoola’s Scór Officer. The whole night was under the excellent control of Fear a Tí; Sean Mac Suibhne.

Connacht Finals

The Connacht Finals are in Ballinamore Community Centre on Saturday next starting promptly at 6.00pm. There will undoubtedly be a full house in Ballinamore so supporters are advised to be there early.



25-Mar-07 by S O S