Leitrim Connacht Under 21 Football Champions 1977

Connacht Council are this year honouring the Leitrim U21 Connacht Football Champions of 1977 on Connacht Final day this Sunday, July 8th. The panel will be introduced to the crowd following the Connacht Minor Final at 1:20pm.

Leitrim won their first Connacht U21 title in 1977 overcoming Roscommon with a courageous performance on a wet and windy day in Sligo. Leitrim had prepared well for this campaign and had caused a surprise in the first round with a merited win over Galway (1-09 to 0-10)

The Conancht final ended 1-3 to 0-5 in favour of Leitrim and the half back line of Joe Reynolds, Frank Holohan and Sean Leydon (RIP) were the heroes, as was Mickey Martin.

Unfortunately this team subsequently went down in the All Ireland semi-final to a great Kerry team with Jack Oshea, Seanie Walsh and Ogie Moran on display.

The 1977 Connacht U21 Champions as lined out in the programme are:

1 Gerry Beirne – Mohill
2 Michael Flynn – St. Marys
3 Dan Meehan – Glencar/Manorhamilton
4 James Flynn – Gortletteragh
5 Joe Reynolds – Eslin
6 Frank Holohan – Drumreilly
7 Sean Leyden(RIP) – Fenagh-St.Caillins
8 Des McNulty – Glencar/Manorhamilton
9 Seamus Mulhern – St. Marys
10 Frankie Bohan – Bornacoola
11 Frank Smith – Aughawillan
12 Michael Martin – St. Marys
13 Hugh Murphy – Sean O Heslins
14 Mel Kiernan – Annaduff
15 Gerry Logan – Sean O Heslins

16 Leo Logan – Sean O Heslins
17 Liam Flynn – St. Marys
18 Pat Flynn – Gortletteragh
19 Thomas McKenna – Drumkeerin
20 Sean Crossan – Sean O Heslins
21 Joey Bird – Dromahair
22 Richard Ellis – Fenagh-St.Caillins
23 Pat McDonald – Glencar/Manorhamilton
24 Charlie Kelly Aughawillan
25 Mickey Quinn Aughawillan
26 Tommy Mulvey – Allen Gaels

Bainisteoir: Michael McGowan – Melvin Gaels
Selector: Eamonn McGowan – Allen Gaels
Selector: Joe Sorohan – Gortletteragh

Cathaoirleach: George O Toole – St. Marys
Runai: Tony McGowan – Allen Gaels



05-Jul-07 by Brendan Doyle – PRO