Tourlestrane booked a semi-final with Ballina



SLIGO champions Tourlestrane booked a semi-final with Ballina as they beat Leitrim champions St Marys at Pairc Sean Mhic Diarmada, Carrick-on-Shannon yesterday.

Gene Bohan opened the St Marys account with a 3rd minute point, but Tourlestrane led 0-5 to 0-1 at the break which ended in controversy, 2 minutes from time, when referee Oliver Kelly disallowed a Tourlestrane goal deemed to have been fisted into the net despite claims it had been touched on by Stephen Henry.

St Marys started the second period with two points from Gene Bohan and Brian ODonnell, before Tourlestrane scored five points without reply.

A well-takenÓgoal involving three St Marys players was too late to stop Tourlestrane, however, who were the better team.

ScórERS –Tourlestrane: G McGowan (0-3 2f); J Marren (0-2); D Durkin, G Gaughan, S Henry, T Henry, J Leonard, A McIntyre, M Walsh (1pt each). St Marys : R Mulvey (1-0), G Bohan (0-3 2f), B ODonnell (0-1).



15-Oct-07 by