2008 GAA Presidents Awards – John Harte – Sean OHeslins


Congratulations from Leitrim GAA to John Harte, Sean OHeslins on the announcement that he is to receive GAA Presidents Award for 2008. Below is an excerpt of the press release from Croke Park and Johns citation bears out that he is a very worthy recipient:


The winners of the 2008 GAA Presidents Awards were announced today. The Awards were first presented in 2004 to acknowledge the achievements and commitment of individuals throughout the Association by providing formal recognition of their work for and dedication to the GAA. Among the winners are former players, coaches and officials from across the country who have contributed extensively to the GAA as well as to Handball, Ladies Football, Rounders and Camóige.


President of the GAA, Mr Nickey Brennan, extended his congratulations to the winners of the awards and paid tribute to their outstanding contributions to the Association in various capacities. He said: "This years winners have demonstrated in their own individual capacities the true spirit of volunteerism through their involvement with their Clubs and at County or Provincial level. The Association has always been fortunate to possess outstanding individuals who have served the Association with distinction and these awards are an opportunity to recognise the dedication and commitment of our members in a formal manner".


The Award winners will be honoured at a Banquet in Croke Park after the AIB All Ireland Club Finals on Monday March 17th at 5.30pm.



John Harte (Leitrim)

From the Sean OHeslins G.A.A. Club in Co. Leitrim, John is the epitome of a true, committed, loyal, energetic and dedicated club member. For the past 40 years he has been involved in every aspect of the club from participating in Scór to fundraising, to the promotion of hurling and is a past Chairman of the Ballinamore club – a position that is currently held by his son Conor.




29-Feb-08 by Brendan Doyle – PRO