Connacht GAA Awards night

Leitrim had three award recipients at the weekends Connacht GAA Presentation Banquet event in Castlebar. Barry McWeeney won the Personality of the Month award for January for his performance with Sligo IT. Later in the year Maeve Quinn won her award in the month of September for her fine contributions to the Ladies All Ireland winning campaign.

Kiltubrid received their Award for Club Grounds of the year and it was neighbours Tubbercurry who won the overall provincial award for Club grounds.

Two of Leitrims referees were also acknowledged amongst a list of referees that officiated in various Connacht finals. First up was Eamon OGrady for his role inthe U21 Football Championship and the Junior Club Football Final referee was Ray McBrien.

Congratulations to all worthy Leitrim recipients.

Michael McNamara, who played centre half-back for Sligo in last years historic Connacht SFC triumph, has been honoured with an award as the provinces leading GAA personality for 2007.

He was named as the Connacht GAA Writers Personality of the Year, in association with the TF Royal Theatre and Hotel, Castlebar.

It is a great honour for me, and also for the Sligo team. We had a great year in 2007, but now were back training in the muck and rain and hoping to do well again in 2008, said McNamara, after receiving the Michael McDonnell Perpetual Award, in memory of a former Connacht PRO who died suddenly almost two years ago.



10-Feb-08 by Brendan Doyle – PRO