Connacht Junior Semi-final – Leitrim v Sligo – Report

Leitrim1-12 Sligo 2-7.

After 80 minutes of tense football Leitrim held their nerve to qualify for the Connacht Junior final with a 4 point win over neighbours Sligo in Páirc Seán Mac Diarmada on Friday evening. This game had to go to extra time as the teams were locked on points after normal time.

In the first half Leitrim lead all of the way through after a bright start with points from James Holohan and DeclanÓgilhooley. Sean Flannery for Sligo stood out and he registered 2 of Sligos 3 points from frees. Leitrim dominated the half adding 5 more scores 4 of which were from play while a goal from Flannery and another point was the quota from Sligo. Half time Leitrim 0-08 Sligo 1-03

The second half saw a Sligo resurgance and Leitrims first goal which came from James Holohan was neutralised by another Flannery goal for Sligo on the 14th minute. Points were exchanged by both teams through the half but a notable tally of 6 Sligo wides to Leitrims 2 told its own tale.

Leitrim scored their final point on the 28th minute and with 3 minutes of injury time to play had to try and hold out but Sligo held their nerve and came through in the dying seconds to put over the vital point to bring the game to extra time.

The 10 minutes each way was telling on players as both teams worked hard to make a head start. Leitrim scored first after 3 minutes followed again by Sligo 1 minute later. A Sligo wide by Flannery was followed by a Leitrim wide by Gilhooley. A second yellow for Noel Gaughan left Sligo struggling with 14 men as Leitrim went to the short half time break 1 point up thanks to a DeclanÓgilhooley free.

The second 10 minute half was all Leitrims and the extra man proved imperative as a fast move from defense to Karol Scollan who passed into the path of Gillhooley lead to a perfect goal and it was game over for Sligo.

A good all round performance from Leitrim justified the win with 5 of the 6 forwards getting on the scoreboard. Sligo playing some of the Senior squad tried hard but being reduced to 14 men left then struggling.


Leitrim Team:
C McCrann, W Gilgunn, D Flynn, L Ferguson, A Bohan, J MCGuinness, D Beck (0-1), D Lowe, N Doonan, M Quinn, D ODonnell (0-2), P McGowan (0-3), R Cox (0-4), D Gilhooley (1-4), J Holohan (1-1).

Sligo Team:
J Farrell, P McGuinness, K Carden, nÓgaughan, M McGowan, M Doddy, D McDonagh, S Henry, M Butler, P Wilson (0-1), E Cawley (0-3), D Davey, P Lyons (0-2), S Flannery (2-5), J Scanlon.

Referee: O Kelly (Roscommon)



03-May-08 by Brendan Doyle – PRO