Galway are seeking their 9th successive win over Leitrim since 1995, having lost their previous two clashes in 1993-94.This will be the 32nd championship clash between the counties, with Galway leading 25-5 while one game was drawn. Leitrim’s wins came in 1927-28-49-93-94.

Galway, with All-Ireland medal winner, Liam Sammon in charge for his first championship, have reached eight Connacht finals (1998-99-2000-2002-2003-2005-2006-2007) in the past ten years, winning five in 1998-2000-2002-2003-2005. Leitrim last reached the Connacht final in 2000 where they lost to Galway. They last won the title in 1994.

Both teams have already had an outing in this year’s championship with Galway easily beating Roscommon (2-16 to 0-6) while Leitrim beat New York, 0-17 to 0-6. It’s the second successive year that Galway and Leitrim have met in the championship. Galway won last year’s Connacht semi-final by 0-17 to 1-10 in Carrick-on-Shannon on a day when the Joyce cousins, Nicky and Padraic scored 0-9 between them. The winners will play Mayo or Sligo in the Connacht final on July 13.

Last Five Championship Meetings
2007 – Galway 0-17 Leitrim 1-10
2005 – Galway 1-11 Leitrim 1-8
2003 – Galway 2-13 Leitrim 1-7
2001 – Galway 3-24 Leitrim 3-5
2000 – Galway 1-13 Leitrim 0-8



12-Jun-08 by Brendan Doyle – PRO