Next Sundays Leitrim GAA County Board Convention promises to be a quiet affair if the lack of elections and nominations tabled for the end of year review in the Bush Hotel is anything to go by.

In the nominations for post on the Executive, there is only two elections on the cards, although neither may take place. Bord na nÓg Chairman Dan Gallogly and Games Promotion Officer Thomas Keenan are nominated for the position of Youth Officer but Keenan, as a GPO, may not be able to take on the job.

Allen Gaels Martin McGowan and Annaduffs Kevin Ludlow are nominated for the post of Coaching Officer although outgoing officer McGowan has indicated he will be standing down from the post due to his commitments with the County Senior Football team.

In terms of motions, it is also relatively quiet although the fall-out from the Appeals and Counter Appeals which held up this years Senior Championship is evident in a Sean OHeslins motion seeking that where an alleged infraction has taken place against a member or a unit, the member or unit shall be notified and may attend any hearing requested by the accused and also have the ability to give evidence or call witnesses.

OHeslins are also seeking that the All-Ireland Hurling and Football Finals be played two weeks earlier than currently fixed to free up time for club championships while OHeslins and Bornacoola are also seeking that no club games be fixed for the day of the All-Ireland Football Final.

In regard to the U-21 Championship, Aughnasheelin have called for a review of the timing of the Under 21 Championship, which they say, is being under valued by being played at the end of the year.

The following are some of the motions:


Motion 1 – That Central Council should arrange that the All Ireland Football and Hurling Finals be played 2 weeks before they are currently fixed to free up more time for Club Championships – Sean OHeslins

Motion 2 – That the following additions be made to Rial 147 TO 2008:

(i) In a case where an alleged infraction has taken place against a member or unit, that member or unit shall be notified of and may attend and may give evidence at any hearing requested by the accused.The unit shall be furnished with copy extracts of Official Records or Documents relevant to the case in the possession of the Director General, Provincial or County Secretary or the Council or Committee in Charge upon written application.

(ii) In a case where an alleged infraction has taken place against a member or unit, that member or unit may call witnesses to give evidence on its behalf and it is its own responsibility to secure the attendance of such witnesses – Sean OHeslins

Competition Motions

That no Adult Football fixtures be made by CCC Liatroma on the Saturday preceding and the day of the All Ireland Football Final – Sean OHeslins

Competitions Recommendations

Recommendation 1

The Committee-in-charge of fixtures (CCC) should identify a weekend at a time when no championship match is played and players duly can plan to take annual holidays if they so wish – Bornacoola

Recommendation 2

The Committee-in-charge of fixtures (CCC) shall not arrange any adult football fixtures for the day of the All-Ireland Football final – Bornacoola

Recommendation 3

That the incoming CCC take a serious look at the U21 Championship and timing of same. It is an important competition and is been under valued by placing it at the very end of the year – Aughnasheelin.

The following are the nominations:

President: Michael McGowan (Melvin Gaels)

Chairman: Gerry McGovern (Cloone).

Vice-Chairman: Peter Flynn (Aughnasheelin)

Secretary: Declan Bohan (Bornacoola).

Asst. Secretary: Collette Fox (Glencar/Manor).

Treasurer: John Mulvey (Ballinaglera).

Asst. Treasurer: John Keenan (Gortletteragh).

Development Officer: P.J. Meehan (Kiltubrid).

Coaching Officer: Martin McGowan (Allen Gaels), Kevin Ludlow (Annaduff).

Oifigeach Cultúra agus Teanga: Sean O Suilleabhain (Sean Ui Eislin)

Youth Officer: Dan Gallogly (Sean OHeslins), Tomas Keenan (Gortletteragh)

PRO: Brendan Doyle (Kiltubrid).

Connacht Council:(2) Seamus Prior (Aughnasheelin) & Joe Flynn (St. Marys).

Central Council: Jim Meehan (Dromahair)

Connacht AGM: (4) Gerry McGovern, Declan Bohan, John Mulvey, Michael McGowan, P.J. Meehan.

Congress: (3) Gerry McGovern, Declan Bohan, John Mulvey, Pat Feehily (Glencar/Manor), Brendan Doyle (Kiltubrid); Faoi 21(1) None.






This full report is available thanks to the Leitrim Observer
– its available in this weeks edition of the Observer and online here



04-Dec-08 by