Scór na nÓg Finals a Great Success

Scór na nÓg Finals a Great Success

The County Finals of Scór na nÓg took place on last Sunday in the Bee Park Centre, Manorhamilton. Fourteen clubs were on stage as almost 160 participants provided the best in Irish cultural activity, music, song, dance etc. It was a wonderful occasion with a packed hall and great entertainment for the audience.

The Roscommon adjudicators had a job to do to settle on winners, as the standard was very high in all events. Apart from all of the winners receiving Scór medals, all participants received a Scór na nÓg certificate indicating that they had participated in the County Finals.

All of the awards were presented by Noeleen Leddy who herself represented Leitrim and her club Glencar/Manorhamilton in Recitation in the Connacht Scór na nÓg Finals in 1990 and 1991. In the latter year Noeleen won the Connacht title and represented Leitrim in the All Ireland Scór na nÓg Finals in the Gaiety Theatre in Dublin. Noeleen has since worked with Shannonside and North West Radio as well as with RTE. She is currently working with Mint Productions and was the Producer on the recent successful series of programmes on the life of Bertie Ahern. The whole presentation of the finals was excellent and credit must go to Fear a Tí for the night, Karl McCartin from Drumreilly who did an excellent job. The Bee Park Centre is also an excellent venue for the Finals. Overall, Scór na nÓg in Leitrim is a credit to the clubs and Coiste Scór Liatroma for the effort they put in to the event.

The Cormac MacGiolla Shield for Club na Bliana was won by the Seán OHeslins club and was presented to Sean OHeslins Oifigeach Cultúir agus Teanga, Brid Sullivan.

The winners who now proceed to the Connacht Finals in Claremorris on Saturday week, 17 January are as follows.

Rince Foirne: Glencar/Manorhamilton

Amhranaíocht Aonair: Shauna McGovern, Carrigallen

Ceol Uirlise: Dromahair

Aithriseoireacht: Niamh McHugh, Eslin

Bailéad Ghrúpa: Seán OHeslins

Trath na gCeist: Fenagh

Nuachleas: Seán OHeslins

Rince Seit: Fenagh Naomh Caillin




06-Jan-09 by Sean o Suiilleabhan