Leitrim V London (Division 4 Football League)

Leitrim registered their second win of the NFL Division 4 when they proved too strong for London in their home fixture with the exiles yesterday (Sunday 21/3/10).  Leitrim excelled in all sectors of the field and recorded an impressive 15 point victory (25 points to Londons 0-10)

The home side started impressively and raced into a 0-5 to no score lead in the first 10 minutes thanks to scores from James Glancy (Glencar/Manor), Shane Canning, James Glancy (St. Marys) and Wayne McKeon.  The Exiles responded with fine scores from Johnny Niblock, Kevin McMenamin and Derek Hayden but Leitrim responded assertively by Scóring nine unanswered points to take a commanding 0-15 to 0-4 lead at the half time whistle.

Leitrim had a major let-off at the start of the second half when the impressive former Donegal Player Kevin McMenamin rattled the crossbar.  The home side steadied themselves after this and they went on to record a facile win. Final score Leitrim 0-25, London 0-10.


Enda Lyons Carrigallen, Daniel Beck Mohill, John McKeon Drumreilly, Dermot Reynolds St Marys, James Glancy St Marys (0-1), Gary Reynolds Carrigallen, Wayne McKeon Ballinamore Seán OHeslins (0-1), Tomas Beirne Eslin (0-2), Shane Canning Mohill (0-1), Philip McGuinness Mohill (0-2), David OConnor Bornacoola (0-1), Michael Foley Kilcock (0-7 4f), Philip Howard Bornacoola (0-2), James Glancy Glencar/Manorhamilton (0-6), DeclanÓgilhooly Allen Gaels (0-1), Barry Prior (Aughawillan) for DeclanÓgilhooly, Ray Mulvey (St Marys) (0-1) for Philip Howard, Colm Clarke (Drumkerrin) for Shane Canning and Colm Maguire (Aughavas) for Michael Foley, Gareth Phelan Melvin Gaels, Ronan Kennedy Mohill, BrendanÓgallagher Lucan-Sarsfields,  Clifford Richardson Carrigallen, Adrian Croal Glencar Manorhamilton.


Evan Byrne, Donal Conlon, Conor Beirne, Declan Egan, Ritchie Ormbsy, Johnny Niblock 0 – 1, Kevin OLeary, Derek Hagan, Eamon McGee, Conor Conneely, Derek Hayden 0 – 1, Ciarán McCallion, Eoin ONeill 0 – 1, Brian Smyth 0 – 1, Kevin McMenamin 0 – 4(2f.). Subs Jack Cott for Ormbsy (26mins.), Pádraig Whelan for Conneely (44 mins.), Killian Phair 0 – 1(f.) for McCallion (44 mins.), Niall Egan 0 – 1 for Whelan (64 mins.), Philip Morgan for D. Egan (67 mins.).Noel Tuohy, Niall Doherty, Darren Horan, Brendan Mulrooney, Declan Lally,

Referee: Declan Corcoran (Mayo).







22-Mar-10 by Colette Fox – PRO