Leitrim v Limerick Report

Limerick 1-22
Leitrim 0-9

Limerick totally outclassed Leitrim in the last game in Division 4 yesterday.  The result means Leitrim remain in Division 4 next year while Limerick and Waterford make the leap to Division 3.  

Limerick were quite impressive in this encounter and aside from their comfortable victory they are currently the leagues top scorers, are still in contention for the 10,000 Fair Play Award and now look forward to a League Final against Waterford (possibly in Croke Park).

To be fair to Leitrim they battled right to the final whistle and had they not wasted two goal chances the scoreline may have been different.  Leitrim opened their account when Michael Foley pointed the first of five frees for Leitrim in the ninth minute but by half time the homeside led by 0-11 to 0-5.  Leitrim only scored a point from play in the second half while Limerick converted a penalty and ran out easy winners on a scoreline of 1-22 to 0-9.

Next season the Leitrim Team will be joined by Roscommon and Fermanagh who made the drop from Division 3 so if it is any consolation there will be some interesting local derbies and short journeys at least!

Leitrim scorers: M Foley 0-5 (5f), D Gilhooley 0-2, S Canning and R Kennedy 0-1 each.

Leitrim: G Phelan, D Beck, J McKeon, D Reynolds (St Marys) B Prior, S Foley, C Clarke, S Canning, T Beirne, P McGuinness, D OConnor, M Foley, J Glancy, R Kennedy, D Gilhooley.

Subs: C Maguire for Beck, B Gallagher for Kennedy, R Cox for J Glancy (G Manor), C Richardson for Canning, D Sweeney for OConnor.




12-Apr-10 by Colette Fox – PRO