Gallogly Catering All County Leagues

With the August Bank Holiday weekend approaching and Championship now taking centre stage now is an opportune time to take a look at the current standing of teams within the All County Leagues.


12 teams compete in Division 1.  The majority of teams have played 8 games with only Mohill and Melvin Gaels with a game in hand on 7 played.  League holders Glencar Manorhamilton are currently ideally placed at the top of the table with 12 points.  In hot pursuit on 11 points are Carrigallen, Mohill (1 game in hand), St. Marys and Annaduff.  Realistically, any of these teams could yet make the top two and challenge for the league honours.  Mid-table on 8 points sees neighbours Drumreilly and Aughawillan.  While both are still in contention for a top placing this current Scóring average should at least see them safe.  The next four teams are very closely positioned with Dromahair on 7 points, Sean O’Heslins on 6, Melvin Gaels on 5 and Allen Gaels second from the bottom on 4 points.  Kiltubrid prop up the table with no points from eight outings and they will rely on results if they are to survive relegation.  Interestingly, two of Kiltubrid’s remaining 3 fixtures are against Melvin Gaels and Allen Gaels.  Two teams will be relegated to Division 2 and with it all to play for at the top and a number of teams at the bottom, this division will go down to the wire.


10 teams compete in Division 2 with nine of them first string teams and Glencar Manorhamilton the only second string team.  Although the league fixtures are not yet complete, it is already known that both Bornacoola on 15 points from 8 outings and Glenfarne/Kiltyclogher on 14 points from 9 outings are promoted to Division 1 next year.  They will contest the League Final at a later date.  Well done to both clubs on securing Division 1 status next year.  Mid-table sees both Gortletteragh and Aughnasheelin.  Both clubs performed admirably and are safe with 10 points and Gortletteragh have one game left to play.  Eslin are currently in 5th place on 6 points but do have 3 remaining fixtures to fulfill.  Glencar Manorhamilton and Aughavas are also currently locked on 6 points with Eslin and both have one remaining fixture.  These 3 teams will be hoping to win their remaining games to avoid the relegation zone.  The bottom 3 teams are Drumkeerin, Cloone and Ballinaglera.  Ballinaglera are currently bottom with two points from 7 games. Drumkeerin do have a game in hand over the other two but 2 of their remaining 3 fixtures are against Cloone and Ballinaglera.  With two teams to be relegated, all 3 will hope to win their remaining games and hope others slip up if they are to avoid the drop.  


10 teams contest Division 3 and the league is finalised with Bornacoola and Fenagh promoted to Division 2 next year. Well done to Fenagh who were crowned Division 3 winners when they edged out Bornacoola in the league final by the narrowest of margins (0-8 to 0-7) on the 10th of July. Mohill, St. Mary’s, Annaduff, Kiltubrid, Sean O’ Heslins, Gortletteragh and Allen Gaels will remain in Division 3 next year and will be joined by the two relegated teams from Division 2.  Drumkeerin were unfortunate to be relegated to Divison 4 next year while Leitrim Gaels were promoted to this division from Division 4.


Division 4 consists of 12 teams.  The league was finalised last weekend with St Marys and Leitrim Gaels contesting the league final.  Leitrim Gaels emerged victorious after a replay with a one point win.  The Leitrim Gaels team are now promoted to Division 3 while St Marys cannot be promoted as they already have a team competing in Division 3.  At the other end of the table Ballinaglera were relegated and will play in Division 5 next year.  Carrigallen, Melvin Gaels, Glencar Manor, Annaduff, Aughnasheelin, Dromahair, Aughavas, Allen Gaels and Aughawillan all survived and will remain as Division 4 teams next year along with newly promoted Leitrim Gaels from Division 5 and relegated Division 3 team Drumkeerin.


Division 5 is made up of 13 teams and there is no relegation.  This Division is now complete as of last weekend and congratulations to Leitrim Gaels who completed the Division 4 and Division 5 League doubles by defeating neighbours St Marys again in this Final by 2 points.  While Leitrim Gaels can be promoted, St Marys must remain in this Division as a Club cannot have two teams in the same Division.  Interestingly, both teams were equally matched with 20 points and had the same for/against total.  St. Mary’s, Mohill, Kiltubrid, Glenfarne/Kilty, Drumreilly, Bornacoola, Fenagh, Cloone, Gortlettragh, St Osnatts, Sean O’Heslins and Eslin will be joined by the Division 4 relegated team Ballinaglera next year.

Full credit to the CCC for having the league competitions finalised in Division 3,4 and 5 and so well advanced in others.



27-Jul-10 by Colette Fox – PRO