Minor C Final GlenfarneKilty v Fenagh St Caillins

Glenfarne/Kilty were this evening crowned Minor C champions with a 3-09 to 1-06 win over Fenagh-St Caillins. In a first half which was slow to gather momentum both sides exchanged points from Donal Wrynn and Andrew Wrynn for Fenagh St Caillins and John Mc Loughlin and Darren Murray for Glenfarne/Kilty and despite the great shouts of encouragement from the good crowd of supporters who were there to cheer on their respective teams the scores were slow to come with both teams being wasteful with their shots and some very good defensive play by both sides. Glenfarne/Kilty were first to hit the net with an 18th minute goal by Steven Mc Manus and the teams went in at the break on a scoreline of Glenfarne/Kilty 1-02 to Fenagh-St Caillins 0-04. The second half saw a much hungrier Glenfarne/Kilty side with Robert Broughton in the number 2 jersey run the length of the pitch and score a point. In the 26th minute Glenfarne/Kilty were awarded a penalty  which Steven Mc Manus easily converted, this was quickly followed in the 27th minute by a Michael Ferguson point and another converted penalty by Steven Mc Manus in the 31st minute. At this stage Fenagh-St Caillins must have felt the game slipping from their grip but they never gave up and in the 32nd minute hit the net with a fine goal followed immediately by a point but the remaining 7 minutes belonged to Glenfarne/Kilty with Micheal  Ferguson Scóring 4 unanswered points and Steven Mc Manus putting another point on the scoreboard with Fenagh-St Caillins Scóring a consolation point in the 40th minute. Final score, Glenfarne/ Kilty 3-09, Fenagh-St Caillins 1-06.The teams lined out as follows.Glenfarne/Kilty  Kevin Leonard, Robert Broughton, Shane Ferguson, Daire Clancy, John Mc Loughlin, Micheal Ferguson, Rory Mc Loughlin, Steven Mc Manus, and Darren Murray. Subs: Kieran Kilkenny, Ronan Mc Govern, Tommy Mc Manus and Anthony Mc Hugh. Management : Francis Mc Loughlin, Fergal Clancy, Padraig Mc Gourty.Fenagh-St Caillins Gavin Heaney, Stephen Keegan, Gary Butler, Darragh Mc Loughlin, Shane Dwyer, Donal Wrynn, Shane Doonan, Andrew Wrynn, and Michael Doonan. Subs: Colm Mc Keon, Richard Heaney and Ronan Ellis. Management : Ray Tubman, Justin Flynn, Padraig Flynn.  



08-Sep-10 by Barbara – PRO – Coiste na nÓg