Eslin to contest Connacht Club Junior Football Championship Final

Eslin turned in a stout hearted performance to convincingly win their Connacht Club junior championship semi-final against Roscommon champions Ballinameen in Ballinamore on Sunday last for the first time in the clubs history.  Eslin (Leitrim) 2 – 9 , Ballinameen (Roscommon) 1 – 6

While man-of-the-match Conor Beirne turned in a trojan performance for the Eslin men when he scored 2 – 8 of the Mohill Half Parish sides total it was very evident that all of Beirnes colleagues also played a major part in the teams success such was their overall work-rate in this showdown.

Eslin contest the Connacht Junior Football Final this Sunday against Mayo side Parke at 2pm in McHale Park, Castlebar.  We wish the Club the very best of luck and hopefully they will be celebrating a Connacht title on Sunday evening.   

Eslin: Emmet Higgins, Gabriel Egan, Dermot Reynolds, Colin Turbitt, David Stenson Tomás Beirne, Pauric McNulty, Brian Higgins 0 – 1, Cormac Duignan, Paul Kilcrann, Shane Beirne, Ronan Reynolds, Eamon Stenson, Conor Beirne 2 – 8 (3f.), Barry Bohan. Subs Donnacha Reynolds for Kilcrann (39 mins.), Barry McLoughlin for Bohan (56 mins.).

Ballinameen: Declan Dwyer, Olvan McDermott, Declan Filan, David Wynne, Pádraig Cryan, Paul Kelly, Pádraig McDermott, Eoighan Keaveney, Aidan Cunningham, Ciarán Harrington, Alan Beirne, John Murtagh, Dessie Carlos 0 – 4(2f.), Peter Keane 1 – 1(pen.), Mark Ward 0 – 1. Subs Cathal Keaveney for Dwyer (43 mins.), Brian McDermott for Filan (50 mins.).

Referee: Declan Corcoran (Mayo.).




31-Oct-10 by Colette Fox – PRO