Senior Hurling Championship Final

Leitrim SHC Final

St. Mary’s 2 – 9
Gortletteragh 0 – 11

Despite a stout hearted effort by Gortletteragh on Saturday in Carrick-on-Shannon, St. Mary’s still claimed their twelfth Leitrim senior hurling crown in succession and even though St. Mary’s had four points to spare at the end, the outcome was always in the balance.
Full-forward Fergal Carroll got the decisive score for St. Mary’s when hammering to the net and edging his side in front by 2 – 6 to 0 – 5 within 20 seconds of the restart.
Following that Gortletteragh closed the gap with St. Mary’s to a goal by the 42nd minute after Morgan Quinn tapped over three frees and pointed from play. Try as they might, Gortletteragh just could not get the goal they craved. Gary Coone in the St. Mary’s goal made three outstanding saves and this along with Clement Cunniffe coming into his own when he was needed with vital scores, ensured that St. Mary’s captured the title.
In the unique presentations afterwards, Paddy Phelan, Hurling Board Chairman showed off a new Cup presented by the Cardiff/Kennedy families from the Kiltubrid Club and Paddy said the Cup was to be named the ‘Stephen Dorrigan Memorial Cup’ for the Leitrim Senior Hurling Championship. He gave a glowing account of the exploits of Stephen on the Hurling fields throughout the country in the Leitrim and Gortletteragh Jerseys and it was with great pride that Pauric McWeeney accepted the Cup on behalf of this great St. Mary’s team.
The Man of the Match Trophy was then presented by Paddy to Conor Beirne, the Gortletteragh full back. This trophy was to be known as the Philly McGuinness Man of the Match Trophy

St. Mary’s: Gary Coone, Vincent McDermott, James Keane, Liam Greene, Dermot Reynolds, David Tiernan, Kieran Boyle, James Glancy, Clement Cunniffe 0 – 7(7f.) , Pauric McWeeney 0 – 1, Breian Carroll 0 – 1, Andrew Molloy 1 – 0, Declan Deegan, Fearghal Carroll 1 – 0, Dara Singleton. Subs; Bernard Murray for Singleton (34 mins.), Johnny Beirne for Molloy (52mins)

Gortletteragh: Tommy McLoughlin, Sean Bohan, Conor Beirne, Seàn Costello, Donal Kennedy, Cathal McCrann, Brendan Duignan, Dermot Kennedy, Morgan Quinn 0 – 7(6f.), Mark O’Donaghue, Tomás Beirne 0 – 2, John McGuinness, Seamus Mallon 0 – 1, Mark Beirne, Kevin McGrath 0 – 1. Subs Patrick Kennedy for O’Donaghue (19 mins.), JohnÓgilhooley for P. Kennedy (37 mins).
Referee: Pat Maguire (Sligo).



11-Oct-10 by Paddy O Connor – PRO – Hurling