Brave Aughawillan rue missed chances

AIB Connacht Club IFC Semi-Final

Strokestown (Roscommon) 0 – 10, Aughawillan (Leitrim) 0 – 6 (Venue Ballinamore, Co Leitrim.)

Strokestown dominated the exchanges of this tie in the first half but had to withstand a brave Aughawillan second quarter fight-back that levelled the proceedings to set up a grand stand finish.  Strokestown however snuffed out Aughawillans challenge in the final quarter and booked their place in the Connacht Club Intermediate Football Final.

Aughawillan outplayed Strokestown in most of the second half exchanges but wayward shooting in this period proved to be the Leitrims sides Achilles heel as well as a 37th minute dismissal for a second yellow card offence.  Man-of-the-match John Rogers shot nine of Strokestowns ten points with eight of those coming from free conversions.  Aughawillan did Leitrim proud on the day and the Connacht experience will no doubt stand to them going forward.

Strokestown: John McHugh, Jonny Dolan, Niall Owens, Paul McLoughlin, John Hagan, Daniel Rogers, Rory Molloy, Ronan Owens, Matty Column, John Rogers 0 – 9(8f.), Seamus Collins, Pearse McGinley, Thomas ShannÓgher, Patrick Brogan, Conor Silke 0 – 1. Subs Niall Brogan for Dolan (22 mins.), Emmet Collins for R. Owens (37 mins.), E. Molloy for McGinley (43 mins.), Kenny Bosquette for Colum (52 mins.).

Aughawillan: Colin Maguire, Noel Darcy, Michael Quinn, Gerard McGovern, Declan McGovern, Sean Quinn, Garry Deane, Christy Prior, Shane Flanagan 0 – 1, Olly Plunkett, Barry Prior 0 – 2, Paul Prior 0 – 1, CiaránÓgilheaney, Morgan Quinn 0 – 1(1f.), Noel Plunkett 0 – 1. Sub Ryan Creamer for O. Plunkett (HT).

Referee: Gerry Kinneavy (Galway).



02-Nov-10 by Colette Fox – PRO