Under 16 15 aside Championship Final Drumkerrin v Drumreilly

Drumkerrins epic second half performance wins them the under 16 15 aside championship final in Fenagh last Saturday. In the early stages of this game it was score for score with points from Drumreillys Dylan Mimna and Mark Plunkett and Drumkerrins Jamie Langan Scóring 1 from play and 1 from a free. Drumreilly edged ahead again with a Mark Plunkett free followed by another Drumreilly free put over this time by Gary Plunkett. Minutes later came the first of the LanganÓgoal spree when Jamie hit the net after some good team play and this was quickly followed by another Drumkerrin free again put over by Langan. Drumreilly again hit back with two more points from Gary Plunkett, 1 from play and the other a free, with the sides now level it seemed all to play for and just before half time Drumkerrin edged ahead with a Langan free sending the sides in with Drumkerrin ahead by the minimum on a scoreline of 1-04 to 0-06. Shortly after the restart their lead was quickly cut with a StephenÓgilheaney point but then on 6 and a half minutes LanganÓgot his second goal and five minutes later got his third. At this stage it was all Drumkerrin with great team work all over the field, in the following five minutes Langan put over three more points, 2 from play and a free, he was just on fire and could do no wrong. Drumreilly kept battling but there was no way through the Drumkerrin defence for them as they continued to pop over the scores with another Langan point from play and a point from Sean o Grady, in the final five minutes James Gallagher scored two points and Ciaran Hicky also got his name on the scoresheet with a fine point from play. Shortly before the final whistle Drumreilly got a late consolation point courtesy of Sean Fox. Joyful scenes followed the final whistle as Drumkerrin added the championship title to the league title they won earlier in the year and to whom we extend our congratulations.
Teams; Drumkerrin, Patrick Kelly, Tommy Rogan, Declan Daly, Thomas Mc Partlan, Paul Hazlette, Felim Mc Hugh, Robert Fee, James Gallagher, Dean Brolly, Cathal Mc Cauley, Ciaran Hicky, Jerome Mc Guire, Adrian Forde, Jamie Langan, Darren ODonnell. Subs; Sean O Grady, James Gallagher, Jack Mc Veigh, DillonÓgrogan and Sean Hazlette. Management ; Junior Hazlette, Richard Mc Tiernan, Damien Mc Padden.
Drumreilly; Daire Mc Niff, Rory Mc Tague, Sean Fox, Killian Lavin, Peirce Dolan, David OConnell, Kevin Murtagh, Gary Plunkett, StephenÓgilheaney, Declan Flanagan, Conor Gaffney, Fergal Mc Tague, Dylan Mimna, Mark Plunkett, Donal Mc Cabe. Subs; Ronan Maxwell,Adan Kearns, Kieran OHaire and Micheal Prior. Management ; Padraig Gaffney, Seamus Mc Tague, Donal Quinn, Tomas Mimna.



18-Nov-10 by Barbara – PRO – Coiste na nÓg