College players absent for County Panels in FBD League

New Mayo and Galway football Managers James Horan and Tomas O Flatharta will be without 15 players between them for next months FBD Connacht League.

Third-level colleges have first call on players for the pre-season competition and the two Connacht heavyweights have been especially hard hit by the rule. The remaining counties in the province – Sligo, Leitrim and Roscommon – must also plan without 15 members of their respective squads.

Leitrim Manager Mickey Moran has six players absent, while Sligo and Roscommon will lose five and four players to college commitments respectively. Leitrim will be without Dromahairs Kevin Conlan and Annaduffs Dermot Reynolds who both saw action against Roscommon in this years Connacht Championship and they are claimed by NUIG and Sligo IT respectively.  Aughnasheelins Sean McWeeney is also claimed by NUIG while Glencar/Manor duo Paddy Maguire and Adrian Croal will see action with Sligo IT.  Leitrims only other County panelist claimed by the colleges is Carrigallens Eoin Ward who is called up by Galway Mayo IT.



03-Jan-11 by Colette Fox – PRO