Leitrim team to play Down

The Leitrim panel for the All Ireland Football Qualifier game versus Down this Saturday 9/7/11 at 3pm in Newry.

The starting 15 shows five changes to the team that lost the Connacht semi final against Roscommon.  John McKeon and Daniel Beck replace RonanÓgallagher and Wayne McKeon in defence.  Darren Sweeney comes in for Tomas Beirne in midfield while in the forwards division Colm Clarke and Brian McDonald replace Paul Brennan and Conor Beirne.  James Glancy (Glencar Manorhamilton) captains the side from full forward.
1. Cathal McCrannÓgortletteragh

2. Dermot Reynolds Annaduff

3. John McKeon Drumreilly

4. Paddy Maguire Glencar Manorhamilton

5. Daniel Beck Mohill

6. Gary Reynolds Carrigallen

7. Barry Prior Aughawillan

8. Daniel Lowe St Marys

9. Darren Sweeney Glencar Manorhamilton

10. Robert Lowe St Marys

11. Emlyn Mulligan Melvin Gaels

12. Colm Clarke Drumkeerin

13. Brian McDonald Glencar Manorhamilton

14. James Glancy Glencar Manorhamilton (CAPT)

15. Adrian Croal Glencar Manorhamilton

16. Phillip Farrelly Ballinamore Sean OHeslins

17. James Glancy St Marys

18. Barry McWeeney Aughnasheelin

19. Ciaran EganÓgortletteragh

20. Shane Canning Mohill

21. Paddy McGowan St Patricks Dromahair

22. Paul Brennan Melvin Gaels

23. Conor Sheridan Melvin Gaels

24. Fergal Clancy Glenfarne Kiltyclogher

25. Conor Kelly St Patricks Dromahair

26. Christy McGowan St Patricks Dromahair.

Leitrim and Down meet for the first time in the championship with Leitrim still seeking their first win in the qualifiers. It leaves themselves and Waterford as the only counties still waiting for a qualifier win.

In contrast, Down made great use of the second chance last year, advancing from Round 2 of the qualifiers to reach the All-Ireland final where they lost to Cork by a single point.




06-Jul-11 by Colette Fox – PRO