GlenfarneKiltyclogher are Under 16 (11-a-side) League Winners

Congratulations to Glenfarne/Kiltyclogher who defeated Leitrim Gaels in the Under 16 (11-a-side) league final in Pairc Sean last Monday evening.

Leitrim Gaels opened the Scóring in the second minute after David BruenÓgot a point after a pass from Pierce Daly and a minute later they came very close to Scóring the games opening goal when Narada Patrasco found Aaron McLoughlin who took a shot at goal but hit the crossbar. Glenfarne/Kilty then levelled when Darren Murray converted a free.

Leitrim Gaels then took the lead again when Aaron McLoughlin pointed a well taken free but then Darren Murray converted another free for Glenfarne/Kilty to level the match again. David Bruen thenÓgot another point from play from the hard work of Damien Flynn which put Leitrim Gaels a point up.

Six minutes before the break Darren Murray converted another free and two minutes later he got the opening goal for Glenfarne/Kilty working with Chris Owens to break through the Leitrim Gaels defence by exchanging several passes before Murray took a shot at goal and ended in the back of the net. Leitrim Gaels took another blow in Injury time of the first half when Cian Rock provided an excellent delivery to Niall McManus who made no mistake inÓgetting Glenfarne/Kilty their second goal ending the first half Glenfarne/Kilty 2-03 Leitrim Gaels 0-03.

The second half saw Leitrim Gaels starting very positively and within a minute of restart David Bruen had scored a point but Glenfarne/Kilty replied with a Cian Rock free. With both teams hitting a number of wides it was another ten minutes when Scóring did resume with Leitrim Gaels converting two frees by Aaron McLoughlin who reduced the deficit to just four points giving hope to Leitrim Gaels that they were still in with a chance.

However, Glenfarne/Kilty scored a point by Darren Murray giving them a five point lead and a minute later he was given the opportunity to stretch their lead when his side was awarded a penalty after a foul on Oisin Keaney. Murray took the penalty which ended in the net to ensure victory for his side.

Leitrim Gaels replied with a point from Brian McElgunn but Glenfarne/Kilty were not finished yet when Cathal McSharry got his teams fourth goal ensuring they were this years Under 16 (11-a-side) League winners.

Final score Glenfarne/Kiltyclogher 4-05 Leitrim Gaels 0-07


Gary Slivin, Niall McManus (1-0), Brian Fox, Evan Kerrigan, Chris Owens, Cian Rock (0-1), Darren Murray (2-4) Alan McSharry, Joe McMorrow, Oisin nKeaney, Daniel Fee. Subs: Cathal McSharry (1-0), BenÓgalgey, Oisin McDermot.


Peter Fitzpatrick, Brian EcElgunn (0-1), Blake Walsh, Shane Rogerson, Pierce Daly, Damien Flynn, Aaron McLoughlin (0-3), David Bruen (0-3) Enda Moreton, Narada Patrasco, Thomas Harding, Subs: Patrick Flynn, Andrew Guckian



25-Aug-11 by Gerri Mulhern – PRO – Coiste na nÓg