Connacht Scór Final Results

Another incredible night for Leitrim in the Connacht Scór Finals in Elphin, Co Roscommon on Saturday night with Leitrim scooping 4 of the 8 titles.

London joined the ranks of Connacht  Scór with full force this year, entering into 5 of the events, Figure Dance, Solo Singing, Recitation, Ballad Group and Question Time. they provided some stiff competition to the days proceedings but unfortunately not to return to Tir Chonaill Gaels or St Kierans with any wins. Not to be deterred, they sang the praises of all involved and we expect to see a return from the London contingent again next year.

St Marys, Kiltoghert carried forward their first win in figure dance in forty years to the Connacht event to take the title and safely see themselves through to the All ireland final in the INEC. A fabulous achievement for the club who have been competing most years in a bid to gain a county title. Glencar/Manor had won the last nine years in Leitrim in Rince Foirne and won Connacht on each of those nine years. However they lost 8 All Irelands before they won last years All Ireland title. The 8 Marys ladies are hoping to give the County a second Figure title in two years.

An unfortunate loss to the St Marys Ballad group who gave an outstanding All-Ireland standard performance, but yet were beaten by our Roscommon neighbours. Having made it to the All Ireland on 2 separate occasions in the last 4 years, disbelief was felt in the hall when the adjudicators results were read out and it was not to be for this exceptional group.

Aisling Maxwell from the Sean OHeslins club sang beautifully in the Solo singing event, having had previous success in both Senior and Junior Scór, this young lady will go far in the future.

Dromahair also gave a fantastic performance in the Instrumental music, the young group of 3 we hope can make their mark at senior level again in the coming years.

Aiden Dockery had another fantastic win in recitation and again with his fellow team mates in the Question Time, no strangers to the INEC, they will have their homework well done before the big day and hope their wealth of knowledge will be enough to clinch a second win for the Bors.

Mohill who won the Novelty act, hadnt actually won the Nuachleas in Leitrim since 1983, and amazingly, two of the participants are still in the 2012 act: Padraig McLoughlin and Maureen Lynch. It will be Mohills first time in the All Ireland Finals since Gerard Canning competed and won the Aithriseoireacht in 1988.

Leona Reynolds from Aughnasheelan competed in Rince Sean-Os, a very well executed performance, mixing the traditional old style steps with some very nice quirky modern clicks and lifts but was piped to the title by Catherine Hanley of Roscommon.

Some years of dormancy were over crossed in Elphin and a breathe of fresh air to see new teams coming through and succeeding with determination.

Best of luck in the All Ireland finals to all concerned as Leitrim competitors and supporters prepare for the long journey to Killarney. Tickets for the All Ireland Finals in the INEC Killarney on Saturday 21st April must be ordered in advance. All tickets are non-refundable and must be ordered through your clubs Scór officer by Thursday 5th April.

Connacht winners:

Rince Foirne : St Marys Leitrim
Amhranaíocht Aonair: Niamh Farrell, St Marys, Sligo
Ceol Uirlise: Claregalway, Galway
Aithriseoireacht: Aiden Dockery, Bornacoola, Leitrim
Bailéad Ghrúpa: St Dominics, Roscommon
Traith na gCeist: Bornacoola, Leitrim
Nuachleas: Mohill, Leitrim
Sean Os: Catherine Hanley, Roscommon
Rince Seit: Abbeyknockmoy, Galway



26-Mar-12 by Claire Crossan – PRO – Scor