Football Review Committee

A broad spread of players and administrators including former Leitrim hero Declan Darcy have been recruited to the new Football Review Committee.

New GAA president Liam ONeill set up the committee to look at ways of improving the game.  Former All- Ireland-winning Manager and Irish Independent columnist Eugene McGee was appointed to chair it and he has now selected his team.

It includes Darcy, who captained Leitrim to a Connacht title in 1994, John Tobin, the ex-Galway player and Roscommon Manager and Tony Scullion who won an All-Ireland with Derry in 1993 and is a full-time coach with the Ulster Council.

The group also features Killian Burns (All-Ireland winner with Kerry in 1997 and 2000) and Ciaran McBride, the former Tyrone player who is head of sport at Omagh CBS.  Kevin Griffin, originally from Mayo, is also included, as is Cork native Tim Healy and Roscommons Paul Earley, a pundit with TV3.



13-May-12 by Colette Fox – PRO