Junior A Championship Final Annaduff versus St Josephs

Junior A Championship Final Annaduff versus St Josephs:

Annaduff were the victors in Cloone on Sunday afternoon last having a very convincing win over a young St Josephs team. Annaduff were very quick off the mark with Joanna Duignan Scóring a goal in the opening minutes of the game. Carmel McGovern who was excellent for St Josephs fought hard all afternoon but was cleaned up by Annaduff’s experienced back line, Sarah Mc Manus and Rachel OConnor playing a massive part in that. Rachel Bohan the St Joesphs keeper was under intense pressure in the goals but made some fantastic saves. On the half time whistle the scoreline was Annaduff 2-05 to no score. Ann Marie Cox, Joanna Duignan and Claire Gill getting the scores for Annaduff. In the opening few minutes of the second half St Josephs put their first score on the board Eimear MastersonÓgetting a point. Aisling Gill in the forward line for Annaduff scored a great goal. BronÓgh ORourke was battling hard for St Josephs too but she was denied several times.

Evie Guckian for Annaduff was awarded

the Frank Healy Tyres(Ballyfaron) Player of the Game.

She was outstanding for Annaduff playing in the centre forward position and she had a part to play in many of the Annaduff scores even finding the back of the net herself in the second half. In the second half Claire and Aisling Gill, Ann Marie Cox, Evie Guckian, Joanna Duignan and Sarah McManus all put their names on the scoreboard. For St Josephs Eimear Masterson, Brona ORourke and Carmel McGovernÓgot points while Carmel also had a shot onÓgoal saved by Avril Cox in the closing stages. On the final whistle the scoreline was 6-12 to 0-4.

Avril Cox, Rachel OConnor, Mairead McHugh, Catherine Keville, Mairead Cox, Sarah McManus, Orla Beirne, Maeve Rowley, Joanna Duignan, Sinead Reynolds, Evie Guckian, Clare Gill (Captain), Lorraine Cox, Ann Marie Cox, Aisling Gill.
Subs Used: Ciara Duigna, Rebecca Duignan and Vivenne Egan.
Managers: John Russell and Joe Keville.
St. Josephs:
Rachel Bohan, Lisa McDermott, Shannon ORourke, Naimh Maguire, Kelly ORourke, Elaine McGovern, Sealin ORourke, Yvnne Brady, Phillippa Maguire, Carmel McGovern, Ciara Maguire, Lorraine Maguire, Eimear Masterson, BronÓgh ORourke and Lorraine Heslin.
Subs used: Aoife OMalley and Niamh Masterson.
Managers Darren McGovern & Ray McBrien.



19-Sep-12 by Claire Noone PRO LGFA