Leitrim Senior Hurling Championship Final

Cluainín Iomáint 1-11 Carrick 0-12

Cluainín claimed their first Leitrim Senior Hurling title in 53 years when they narrowly defeated Carrick at Carrick-on-Shannon on Saturday.

The only goal of the game, which went the way of the eventual champions, came in the ninth minute from Niall McLoughlin.  Cluainín were dominant in the first half however, Carrick rallied well in the second half and actually led by 0-12 to 1-8 with 14 minutes remaining, thanks to a score from Clement Cunniffe.

Cluainín finished strongly, though, with a free from CaptainÓgary Hickey drawing them level in the 57th minute, before points from Man of the Match Michael Poniard and Mícheál Dolan sealed a famous win for the Manorhamilton outfit.

Great scenes of celebrationÓgreeted the final whistle and it was poignant that Gary Hickey lifted the cup alongside the last man to captain Manorhamilton to a Hurling Championship victory in 1959, namely Eugene Gilroy.

We take this opportunity to congratulate Cluainín and wish them the very best of luck as they host the Sligo champions Calry St Josephs this Bank Holiday Monday at 2.30 in Páirc Seán in the semi final of the AIB Connacht Club Junior Hurling Championship.

scorers — Cluainín Iomáint: N McLoughlin 1-3, G Hickey 0-3 (3f), D Poniard 0-2, Sean McTiernan, M Poniard, M Dolan (f) 0-1 each. Carrick: C Cunniffe 0-11 (8f), D Deegan 0-1.

Cluainín Iomáint — V Cronin, P Clancy, S Feeney, P Clerkin, Seamus McTiernan, M Poniard, P Loughlin, J OBrien, M McKeon, N McLoughlin, D Poniard, Sean McTiernan, K Clerkin, M Dolan, G Hickey. Subs: D Ryan for Hickey (h-t); D Kelly for Sean McTiernan (51), Hickey for K Clerkin (57).

Carrick — G Coone, T Clancy, B Kane, D Butler, D Hughes, J Glancy, D Byrne, G McGovern, V McDermott, C Cunniffe, P McKiernan, B Carroll, A Doherty, B Murray, D Deegan. Subs: C Maguire for Hughes (35).

Ref — J Sexton (Cork).



23-Oct-12 by Colette Fox – PRO