Connacht GAA FBD Football League Final 2013

Connacht GAA FBD Football League 2013

Sunday 27th January 2013
Markievicz Park
Sligo 0-5 Leitrim 0-8
Referee: J. Henry(M) 

Leitrim made a bit of history for themselves today as they defeated Sligo in Markievicz Park to win the Connacht GAA FBD Football League title for the first time in their history.

Leitrim took an early lead against the Yeats County, and never relinquished it, leading from the very start and looking fairly comfortable in the closing stages.  The weather was not ideal for football, and the quality of the game reflected this as both sides struggled to retain possession.  However, Leitrim always looked the more likely winners, and the win brings a rare piece of silverware to the county.
Ray Cox got Leitrim off the mark with the first score of the game, and Barney Breen and George Dugdales side led 0-3 to 0-0 before Brian Egan and Mark Breheny found the range for Sligo.
However, Leitrim responded with scores from captain Emlyn Mulligan (45) and Danny Beck to go in 0-5 to 0-2 ahead at the break.

Conditions did not improve much for the second half, and both sides only managed three more points each. Leitrim extended their lead to four at one stage, but Sligo got back within two with scores from Egan and Adrian Marren.  However Leitrim stayed composed, and Brian McDonalds score right at the end put them three clear and wrapped up a famous win for them.

They will play New York in the overall FBD League final in October.




27-Jan-13 by Collette Fox – PRO