One Connacht Scór na nÓg Title

One Connacht title for Leitrim in this years Connacht Scór na nÓg Finals last Sunday in Castlebar. It broke the last 2 years sorrows of no win whenÓgrace OReilly of Ballinamore won the recitation title to rapturous cheer from the Leitrim supporters.

Our Mohill girls gave a great performance of the High Caul Cap but the 8 ladies from St Dominics in Roscommon danced through to the All-Irelands.

In Solo Singing Roisin Mannin of Mountbellew Moughlough won the Connacht title seeing off Leitrims Paula Kiernan of Carrigallen.

In Instrumental Music Castlebar Mitchells won the first Mayo title of the evening winning over our St Marys team who performed a very quirky but traditional reel and jig.

Recitation was a very entertaining competition won by the fabulous Grace OReilly from the Ballinamore Sean OHeslins club with a rendition by the very talented Angela Fitzpatrick, a very well deserved win for the young lady.

St Marys Ballad Group sang their songs beautifully to an enraptured audience but Mayo Aughamore club were announced as the winners, a very tough competition.

Very disappointing defeat for the Bornacoola Question time as least years history repeated itself, they finished just behind the eventual winners St Farnans of Sligo for a second year despite having led their way through the first few rounds.

Novelty Act winners were Padraig Pearse of Roscommon, hard luck to the Aughnasheelin team who gave a fantastic performance

Set Dance results was the shocker of the night when Aughamore of Mayo won leaving the stallworths Fenagh and Abbeyknockmoy out, credit must go to the young Fenagh team who thoroughly held their own on that stage every bit as good as the teenÓge teams that danced against them, with youth on their side they will go far.

Leitrim standard of participation was as high as ever this year and no doubt Leitrim Juniors will be back with a bang again in 2014.

Credit must go to Kathy Butler as Leitrim Bean an Ti for the evening, her command of the stage and the audience was truly professional and she still managed to have time for an encouraging words to the participants as they entered the stage, go raibh maith agat Cait.

The All-Ireland Finals will be held in “The Venue”, in Derry on Saturday February 23rd. Please note it is a ticket only event, tickets are priced at €20 and are non-refundable. they can be ordered through your club officer or Maura Mulvey at 087-6486967, all orders must be placed by Monday February 4th.

Wishing Grace and all of the Connacht winners the best of luck.

Connacht Scór na nÓg Winners:

Rince Foirne: St Dominics, Roscommon

Amhranaíocht Aonair: Roisin Mannin, Mountbellew/Moughlough, Galway

Ceol Uirlise: Castlebar Mitchells, Mayo

Aithriseoireacht: Grace OReilly, Sean OHeslins, Leitrim

Bailéad Ghrúpa: Aughamore, Mayo

Trath na gCeist: St Farnans, Sligo

Nuachleas: Padraig Pearse, Roscommon

Rince Seit: Aughamore, Mayo



27-Jan-13 by Claire Crossan – PRO – Scor