Leitrim 1-08 Roscommon 1-14

Leitrim Minors were defeated by Roscommon in their second game of the 2013 Connacht Minor Football League in Kiltoom last Saturday. The final score was Leitrim 1-08, Roscommon 1-14.

The defeat is disappointing for the Leitrim panel who secured a draw with Sligo after a dramatic ending to the game and hopes were high that Leitrim would be able to come out and do the same against Roscommon. Even though the score line shows a difference of six points Leitrim did put it up to Roscommon as they only trailed by a point with 12 minutes of the game remaining.

Roscommon were quick of the blocks in the first half with the first point by JohnÓgannon 10 seconds after throw-in.  Leitrim scored their first point shortly afterwards by a free converted by Luke Murphy but it was Roscommon who were looking the stronger of the two teams and within 11 minutes played Roscommon were up another point by a free converted by Diarmuid Murphy and a goal scored by Henry Walsh. With 10 minutes remaining in the first half Leitrim brought the score back to leave just two points between the sides after Murphy converted a free and a point from Conor Gaffney. But it was Roscommon that finished the first half stronger with three points from Diarmuid Murtagh (one free). Leitrims Cathal McCauley converted a free but Roscommon ended the half by a free converted by Walsh to give his side a 1-7 to 0-4 lead at half time.

The second half showed that Leitrim were much brighter after the restart despite the fact Roscommon extended their lead by two points by Murtagh. The Leitrim comeback began with a free converted by Cathal McCauley and after the introduction of both Aaron McLoughlin and Dean Brolly the team looked dangerous every time they attacked. Points from Mark Plunkett and a McCauley free brought them to five points between the teams. Half way through the second half Leitrim scored a goal by Cathal McCauley who had been awarded a free. The free was from a tight angle to the right of the RoscommonÓgoal and to every ones amazement the ball ended up in the back on the net. Leitrims Conor Gaffney reduced the lead to one point three minutes later after getting a point. However Roscommon dominated the last 10 minutes to secure victory. Points from Walsh (free), Shane Pettit, JohnÓgannon (free), Diarmuid Murtagh and Ronan Daly putting the final score as Leitrim 1-08, Roscommon (1-14).


Darren Kenny, Michael Clancy, Enda Fowley, Liam Ryan, Shane McGowan, Mark Plunkett (0-1), David Mulvey, Kevin McWeeney, Declan Daly, Darragh Gordon, Cathal Keegan, Bertie Cunningham, Cathal McCauley (1-3), Conor Gaffney (0-2), Luke Murphy (0-2),

Subs: Aaron McLoughlin for Keegan (36 mins), Dean Brolly for Cunningham (40 mins), Michael Lavin for McWeeney (56 mins)


Michael Beirne, David Neary, Mark Daly, Keith Neenan, Conor Casserly, Evan McGrath, Adrian Cassidy, Tadhg ORourke, Ultan Harney, Senan Farrell, Michael Murtagh, Niall Connaughton, Diarmuid Murtagh (0-8), JohnÓgannon (0-2), Henry Walsh (1-2),

Subs: Martin Flannery for Keenan (22 mins), Shane Petit (0-1), for Cassidy (HT), Ronan Daly (0-1), Sean Farrell for Senan Farrell (52 mins), Jack Early for Connaughton (52 mins)




29-Mar-13 by Gerri Mulhern – PRO – Coiste na nÓg