Connacht Minor League Mayo 1-13 Leitrim 0-3

Last Saturday evening in Ballyhaunis a very strong Mayo team dominated from the beginning and Leitrim struggled for long periods in the game.

Mayo got off to a flying start and had scored 8 points in the first 22 minutes, Liam Irwin for Mayo scored a goal and a point in this period while Padraig Pendergast hit over twice with Liam Noone (free) and Michael Plunkett adding a point each.

It was in the 24th minute before Leitrim eventually got their first score with a point from Michael Clancy but Mayo went on to increase their lead with points from Plunkett, Ronan Carolan and Irwin (free) to put the home-side ahead by 1-8 to 0-1 at half time.

Three minutes into the second half Mayo increased their lead with a point from Ronan Carolan which was soon followed by a free scored by Conor Gaffney giving Leitrim their 2nd point in the game. Leitrim were unfortunate not to have scored a goal by sub Daire Farrell who drove a 38th minute goal chance wide. Two minutes later Leitrim scored their third point in the game by Shane McGowan and after that Mayo took complete control for the last 20 minutes of the game when hitting four points without reply. Pendergast added two points, sub Cian Hanley getting one and a free scored by Liam Irwin in the 58th minute.

Next Saturday Leitrim will face table leaders Galway in Pairc Sean MacDiarmad in their last game in the Connacht Minor League Campaign. This will be a tough game for them as I am sure confidence is low after the game last Saturday so it would be great and very much appreciated if you would come out and get behind the team so we can put it up to Galway.  


Stephen McPartland, Philip Dolan, Enda Fowley, Shane McGowan (0-1), David Mulvey, Aaron McLoughlin, Rory McTague, Kevin McWeeney, Cathal Keegan, Shane Doonan, Cathal McCauley, Evan Ward, Conor Dolan, Michael Clancy (0-1), Conor Gaffney (0-1),

Subs: Daire Farrell for McCauley (25 mins), Darren Kenny for McPartland (HT), Dean McGovern for Dolan (41 mins), Conor Moran for Ward (45 mins), Luke Murphy for Doonan (48 mins)


Matthew Flanagan, Kieran McNally, Fintan Canavan, Eddie Doran, Michael Hall, Eamon O’Malley, Sean Conlan, Daragh Bourke, Padraig Pendergast (0-5), Tommy Waldron, Michael Plunkett (0-1), Stephen Burke, Ronan Carolan (0-2), Liam Irwin (1-3), Liam Noone (0-1).

Subs: Conor Beirne for Plunkett (HT), David Kenny for McNally (39 mins), Paul Kelly for Bourke (44 mins), Cian Hanley (0-1) for Noone (48 mins), Conor Loftus for Waldron (54 mins)

Referee: Ciaran McGovern (Sligo)



12-Apr-13 by Gerri Mulhern – PRO – Coiste na nÓg