Leitrim 0-6 Longford 3-07

In the opening 10 minutes Leitrim showed promise as they started off the game well with good movement and they opened the Scóring with a Cathal McCauley free and a fine Conor Gaffney point in the first four minutes but Leitrim were dealt a blow when Longford’€’s Martin Cassidy scored Longford’€’s first goal.

Leitrim hit back with a point from Daire Farrell who soloed through for a fine point but it was clear to see at this stage that Longford was dominating most of the game but for terrible shooting the score line would have shown a bigger lead by Longford. Longford went four points ahead with Patrick Kiernan, Larry Moran (2) and a free from Cassidy and with four minutes of the half left Eoin Sorohan hammered the ball into the back of Leitrim’€’s net and unfortunately they weren’€’t finished there as less than one minute later Longford scored their third goal again by Eoin Sorohan. Just before half time Plunkett for Leitrim and Cassidy for Longford scored points giving a half time score Leitrim 0-4, Longford 3-05.

Both teams only managed to score two points each in the second half , the first one was a fine point scored by Conor Dolan but Longford replied with two points from Cassidy and Shane Kelly. With ten minutes to go sub Cathal KeeganÓgot a great point with a long range effort bringing the full time score to Leitrim 0-6, Longford 3-7.



Stephen McParland, Michael Clancy, Enda Fowley, Aaron McLoughlin, Shane McGowan (0-1), David Mulvey, Kenny Cox, Kevin McWeeney, Mark Plunkett, Dean Brolly, Daire Farrell (0-1), Cathal McCauley (0-1), Luke Murphy, Conor Gaffney (0-1), Conor Dolan (0-1)

Subs: Daragh Gordon for Brolly (24 mins), Declan Daly for Mulvey (HT), Cathal Keegan (0-1) for Cox (48 mins)


Gary Kenny, Dessie Reynolds, Jason Earley, Shane Kenny (0-1), Alan Sorohan, Andrew Farrell, Damien Bennett, Fergal Sheridan, Patrick Farrell, Cormac Hughes, Patrick Kiernan (0-1), Ronan Sweeney, Martin Cassidy (1-3), Eoin Sorohan (2-0), Larry Moran (0-2),

Subs: Daragh Gilna for Reynolds (HT), Shane Tully for A Sorohan (42 mins), Adrian Duffy & Ciaran Donohue for Sheridan & E Sorohan (45 mins), Fergal Keenan for Sweeney (48 mins).

Referee: B .Beirne (Roscommon)



05-Apr-13 by Gerri Mulhern – PRO – Coiste na nÓg