The Leitrim Senior & Minor Championship Finals

Anyone’s Game

All roads will lead to Carrick-on Shannon next Sunday afternoon when St Mary’s take on Mohill in the Connacht Gold Leitrim Senior Football Championship Final. While the bookies have St Mary’s as slight favourites everyone knows this game is just too close to call. The last time the sides met in the final in 2006 St Mary’s were coasting to victory by five points with twelve minutes to go when Mohill staged a dramatic recovery to score six unanswered points and emerge victorious in the most thrilling of finishes. One thing is certain ‘€’ no-one will be leaving Páirc Seán before Ray McBrien blows the final whistle.

The Minor Final sees St. Manchan’s play Seán O’Heslin’s Ballinamore with the throw in scheduled for 1.30pm. St.Manchan’s will be hoping to go one better this year having been defeated by Fenagh/Gortletteragh in last year’s final after the first game went to a replay. Seán O’Heslin’s Ballinamore have a great underage tradition with a ‘€’never say die’€’ attitude and this match promises to be as exciting as the Senior Final.

Our Under 12 young stars of the future from St Mary’s, Glencar Manorhamilton, Aughavas and Dromahair will take to the field for exhibitionÓgames in both hurling and football during the half time interval in the minor game.

At the half time break in the senior final we will honour the great Aughavas team – the Leitrim Senior Champions from 1963 – a team featuring household names in the club and in the county.

Remember to keep you admission ticket as Connacht Gold, our Senior Championship sponsors, have generously donated vouchers for a free half time draw.

Be sure to get your copy of our 54 page full colour souvenir match programme at the entrance gates featuring specially written articles to celebrate the occasion. It would make a thoughtful and valued gift for those unable to be at the games on Sunday.

Minor Final commences at 1.30pm with the Senior Final scheduled for 3.30pm.

Nothing beats being there



27-Sep-13 by Colette Fox – PRO