One Connacht Scór na nÓg Title

One Connacht title for Leitrim in this years Connacht Scór na nÓg Finals last Saturday in Castlebar. Leitrim thought we were going home empty handed until the final result of set dance when Aughnasheelin were announced the Connacht champions.  Rapturous cheer from the Leitrim supporters for this young team.

In Rince Foirne Bornacoola gave a great performance but the 8 ladies from St Dominics in Roscommon once again danced through to the All-Irelands.

In Solo Singing Louise Gavin from Mayo won the Connacht title seeing off a fabulous performance from Leitrims Sorcha Nic Conmara of St Maryss.

In Instrumental Music, Easkey won the first Sligo title of the evening winning over our St Marys team who performed a very quirky but traditional reel and jig.

Recitation was a very entertaining competition, Patrick Sweeney of Leitrim Gaels, delivered a very smooth rendition of ” the day Leitrim played Croke Park”  but Galways Mark Holohan won the judges vote.

St Marys Ballad Group sang their songs beautifully to an enraptured audience but St Dominics of Roscommon were announced as the winners.

Nuachleas winners were Padraig Pearse of Roscommon, hard luck to the Aughnasheelin team who gave a fantastic performance

Set Dance results was Leitrims highlight with Aughnasheelan winning the Connacht title, ectactic screams of joy from the young team, quite an achievement as it was their first time taking part in set at provincial level.

Leitrim standard of participation was as high as ever this year and no doubt Leitrim Juniors will be back with a bang again in 2015.


The All-Ireland Finals will be held in “Royal Theatre, Travellers Friend on Sat 1st March. Please note it is a ticket only event, tickets are priced at €20 and are non-refundable. they can be ordered through your club officer or Maura Mulvey at 087-6486967,

Wishing the Aughnasheelan set dancers and all of the Connacht winners the best of luck.


Connacht Scór na nÓg Winners:

Rince Foirne: St Dominics, Roscommon

Amhranaíocht Aonair: Louise Gavin, Mayo

Ceol Uirlise: Easkey Sligo

Aithriseoireacht: Mark Holohan, Galway

Bailéad Ghrúpa: St Dominics Roscommon

Nuachleas: Padraig Pearse, Roscommon

Rince Seit: Aughnasheelan, Leitrim



27-Jan-14 by Claire Crossan – PRO – Scor