FBD Winning Start for Leitrim Footballers

Leiitrim 3-17 GMIT 1-07

A new look Leitrim team began its defence of the FBD Connacht Senior Football League 2015 with a comprehensive 16 point victory over the students of GMIT in ideal conditions at Cloone this afternoon. Shane Ward and his management will be pleased to have got the season off to a winning start which is encouraging for all as they face into the new season. With a lot of new faces on board at this level the Leitrim players and management will be glad to have got the first match of the season played out in such a positive manner, in front of a decent sized attendance for the time of year.

Ciaran Gilheaney had the honour of Scóring Leitrim’s first point of 2015 as Andy Glennon responded with two points to give the students an early lead. Niall Woods, Fergal Clancy and Kevin Conlon added Leitrim scores to which Cian Donaghue responded with a point for GMIT.  However, Leitrim took over at this stage and further scores from Ciaran Gilheaney (1-1), Kevin Conlon (0-3), and points from Fergal Clancy, Paddy McGowan, Niall Woods saw Leitrim holding a commanding 1-12 to 0-4 half time interval lead.

Darragh Joyce opened the second half Scóring for the visitors with a point but another flurry of Leitrim scores over the remainder of the third quarter opened up an unassailable lead. Conlon (1-2), Christy McGowan (1-0), and points each for James McGrail and Danny Beck almost completed Leitrim’s tally for the afternoon before points for Darragh Joyce and Cian Donaghue and a late goal from Alan MeenÓghan completed the students’ tally. It fell to Fergal Clancy to complete the afternoon’s Scóring.

So a pleasing afternoon for all involved in the Leitrim set up and we look forward to the meeting with Galway in Mohill on Sunday next at the rededication of the Philly McGuinness Park.

Leitrim: Philip Farrelly, Niall Woods (0-2), RonanÓgallagher, Barry Prior, Conor Farrell, Gary Reynolds, Sean McWeeney, Paddy McGowan (0-2), James McGrail (0-1), Shane Quinn, Fergal Clancy (0-3), Daniel Beck (0-1), Ciaran Gilheaney (1-2), Christy McGowan (1-0), Kevin Conlon (1-6). Subs: Cathal McCrann for Gilheaney, Jonathan Connolly for Quinn, Conor Doonan for C McGowan, Ronan Reynolds for Farrell, Ronan Flynn for Conlon and Gerry Kelly for P McGowan.

GMIT: Conor Nolan, James Madden, Gerry Mcloughlin, Darren Moran, Stephen McDonnell (0-1), Richard Sweeney, Cian Donaghue (0-1), Micheal O Brien, Dean Styles, Anthony Coyne (0-1), Martin Shaughnessy, Eddie Egan, Kevin Nally, Andy Glennon (0-2), Darragh Joyce (0-2). Subs: Michael Farragher for Styles, Adrian Molloy for Shaughnessy, Ray Geraghty for Coyne, Kieran Reddington for O’Brien, Alan MeenÓghan (1-0) for Joyce and Johnny Doyle for Moran.

Referee: Paul Daly (Roscommon)



04-Jan-15 by Declan Bohan – PRO