One Connacht Scór na nÓg title for Leitrim

One Connacht title for Leitrim in this years Connacht Scór na nÓg Finals last Saturday in Claremorris. Leitrim Gaels took home the only title in the Ballad Group

The first Leitrim performance to take to the stage was represented by the fine young ladies of St Marys in the Figure dance. the girls gave a fabulous performance  but the 8 ladies from St Dominics in Roscommon danced through to the All-Irelands once again.

In Solo Singing Aoife McLoughlin of Kilbride Roscommon won the Connacht title seeing off Leitrims Kathy Mc Loughlin of Leitrim Gaels.

Easkey won the only title of the evening for Sligo in Instrumental Music , winning over our Leitrim Gaels team who received great rapture from the audience but unfortunately not the judges choice and Easkey retained their title for a second year.

Recitation was a very entertaining competition and Patrick Mullooly of St Dominics Rosommon was declared the winner. Credit to Aughnasheelans Sarah Mc Weeney and the self penned tale of modern day Scór , it drew lots of positive attention and received commendation from outgoing chair Mick Rock of Roscommon in his closing speech.

Leiriu winner was St Dominics of Roscommon, Set Dance went once again to Aughamore of Mayo. Leitrim has no entries in either of these competitions much to the shock of other Connaught counties as we would be deemed strong on both of these. One to revive for next year and not let the talent pass us by unnoticed.

Leitrims standard of participation was as high as ever this year and no doubt Leitrim Juniors will be back with a bang again in 2015.


The All-Ireland Finals will be held in Citywest Hotel & Conference Centre on February 14th at 3pm. Please note it is a ticket only event, tickets are priced at €20 and are non-refundable. they can be ordered through your club officer or Maura Mulvey at 087-6486967, all orders must be placed by Monday –January 27th

Wishing Leitrim Gaels and all of the Connacht winners the best of luck.



Connacht Scór na nÓg Winners:

Rince Foirne: St Dominics, Roscommon

Amhranaíocht Aonair: Aoife McLoughlin, Kilbride Roscommon

Ceol Uirlise: Easkey, Sligo

Aithriseoireacht: Patrick Mullooly, St Dominics Roscommon

Bailéad Ghrúpa: Leitrim Gaels, Leitrim

Leiriu: St Domincs, Roscommon

Rince Seit: Aughamore, Mayo



18-Jan-15 by Claire Crossan – PRO – Scor