Scór na nÓg 2017 Finals

Scór na nÓg 2017 Finals

The County Finals of Scór na nÓg took place last Sunday December 4th in Ballinamore Community Centre. The county finalists took to the stage to give their best polished performance to an eager audience and most importantly the judges. In line with the new All-Ireland system of one single judge per competition, adjudicators from Westmeath & Sligo had the task of deciding the Leitrim finalists and had no easy tasks on the day as standard of competitors and efforts from the club left them with a lot of hard decisions to make.
Aoife OMalley from Carrigallen hosted the afternoons competition as Bean an Tí.  Although the competition ran straight to County final this year, it none the less produced a fine afternoons entertainment.

Clubs that took part, made huge efforts to enter most of the competitions, in particular Mohill and St Marys with huge turnout of competitors. It was great to see such a large crowd for the 2017 finals and to see many clubs making a comeback this year – Glencar-Manorhamilton, Dromahair and Carrigallen, fantastic to see new faces on the stage. Congratulations to all of the clubs that took part and help keep the tradition alive.

With no Leiriu or Set dancing entered for Leitrim this year, Ideally we would like to see participants competing in all categories next year. Scór scriptwriting competition is underway though Croke park, this aims to provide counties with scripts for Leiriu and will help out clubs with ideas and plays to use for this competition. It is open to clubs to use these scripts and help build on ideas for Leiriu for future entries.

Medals were presented to the all the Leitrim winners by Terence Boyle, Chairperson of Leitrim County Board. The Cormac MacGiolla Shield for Club na Bliana was an adjudicators choice this year and was won by Naomh Muire club for their huge participation.

Thanks to all the clubs and mentors for giving of their time so selflessly to aid and encourage the young people of their clubs to take part this year. It is safe to say the future of our Irish heritage and culture is safe and well in these young hands.
The Leitrim County Title Winners are as follows:
Rince Foirne: Glencar-Manorhamilton
Amhranaíocht Aonair: Katie Conefrey, Fenagh
Ceol Uirlise: St Marys

Aithriseoireacht: Michael Connorton, St Marys 
Bailéad Ghrúpa: St Marys 
The winners proceed to the Connacht Finals in Claremorris, Co Mayo, on Sunday 15th of January 2017 at 2pm. Wishing all of the clubs the very best of luck.



05-Dec-16 by Claire Crossan – Oifigeach Cultura agus Teanga