Connacht Scór na nÓg 2017

Connacht Scór na nÓg 2017

One Connacht title for Leitrim in this years Connacht Scór na nÓg Finals last Saturday in Claremorris. St Marys took home the only title in the Ballad Group. They join Fenagh, Naomh Caillins (Question time) in the All-Ireland final in Belfast on February 11th.

The first Leitrim competitors to take to the stage were the young ladies of Glencar/ Manorhamilton in the Figure dancing. The girls gave a great performance, using all the stage for the Cross Reel. But it was Louisbourgh Mayo who danced through to the All-Irelands.

In Solo Singing Ava Fitzpatrick, Claremorris, Mayo won the Connacht title seeing off Leitrims Katie Conefrey of Fenagh, who sang a beautiful rendition of the Shores of Lough Bran.

Recitation was a very entertaining competition, with Patrick Mullooly of St Dominics Roscommon, defending his All-Ireland 2016 win and St Marys Michael Connorton tight to his heels, the title went to the brilliant Eilish Mc Dermott from the Davitts club in Mayo.  High credit to the young Michael Connorton of St Marys on a fantastic performance. He gave a great deliverance and poise on the stage, telling his witty story.

A fabulous win for St Marys Ballad Group, gave yet another outstanding performance.  With 5 strong performance’s given by Connacht counties, elation for Leitrim winning their first and only title of the night. The Carrick ballad group having made it to the All-Ireland last year are thrilled to be representing Connacht & Leitrim once again.

Abbeyknockmoy of Galway lifted the title in Instrumental Music , winning over Leitrims St Marys team. The 4 young ladies received fantastic rapture from the audience but unfortunately with stiff competition, not the judge’s choice. The Music was a highly entertaining competition; any of the 5 counties could have easily won the title. The musical arrangements they brought to the stage and the array of instruments the young people play with ease, was certainly to be admired.

Leiriu winner was St Dominics of Roscommon & Set Dance went to Abbeyknockmoy of Galway, seeing off last years All-Ireland winners, Aughamore of Mayo. Leitrim once again had no entries in either of these competitions. Hopefully Leitrim can revive these competition entries in coming years and not let the talent seen in past success go unnoticed.

The All-Ireland Finals will be held in the Waterfront Theatre, Belfast on February 11th at 3pm. Please note it is a ticket only event, tickets are priced at €20 and are non-refundable. They can be ordered through; Claire Crossan 087-6472547. All orders must be placed by Friday January 20th.

Wishing – St Marys Ballad group, Fenagh Naomh Caillain’s Question time and all of the Connacht winners the very best of luck at the All-Ireland final.


Connacht Scór na nÓg Winners:

Rince Foirne:   Louisburgh, Mayo

Amhranaíocht Aonair:   Ava Fitzpatrick, Claremorris, Mayo

Ceol Uirlise:  Abbeyknockmoy, Galway

Aithriseoireacht:   Eilish McDermott, Davitts, Mayo

Bailéad Ghrúpa:   St Marys, Leitrim

Leiriu:St Dominics, Roscommon

Rince Seit:   Abbeyknockmoy, Galway



16-Jan-17 by Claire Crossan – Oifigeach Cultura agus Teanga