Another Connacht Scór na nÓg Glory Day for Leitrim

A fabulous night for Leitrim taking Four Connacht titles in this year’s Connacht Scór na nÓg. The finals were held last Saturday in Claremorris. The newly introduced Connacht round of the quiz was held as the first event of the day in Claremorris clubhouse. Ballinamore Sean O’Heslins faced the four other Connacht county teams for a provincial round with the Leitrim team winning by a point.  All 5 county teams will participate in the 32 county All- Ireland quiz on February 17th in the Clayton Hotel Sligo at 11am. Entrance to the quiz is free of charge.

The first Leitrim competitors to take to the main stage were the young ladies of St Marys Carrick on Shannon in the Figure dancing. The girls gave a great lively and polished performance, winning them Leitrim’s second title of the day. A first win in figure for St Marys in Scog na nÓg in many years  & a fine achievement for this team in what was a tight competition seeing off Mayo & Roscommon who had both previously taken part in All-Irelands.

In Solo Singing, Amelia Pajak of Mohill won the Connacht title. Her first appearance at Connacht level and a daunting one for the young lady as she was the first competitor to sing. Nerves didn’t play a part on the day for her as she gave a beautiful solo.

Recitation was a very entertaining competition, from witty tales to old fables and storytelling, each act giving a different slant on the variety of material available for this competition.  St Marys Michael Connorton represented Leitrim.  High credit to the young man on a fantastic performance. He had great deliverance and poise on the stage and received a very positive return from the audience with cheers and applause. Katie Heneghan of St Dominic’s Roscommon was the judges’ winner on the day.

A fabulous win for St Marys Ballad Group gave an outstanding performance. The Carrick girls clinching their 3rd Connacht title were thrilled to be representing Connacht & Leitrim at the All-Ireland.

St Marys also took part in Instrumental Music on Sunday. The musicians received fantastic rapture from the audience but unfortunately with stiff competition, not the judge’s choice. The Music was a highly entertaining competition; any of the 5 counties could have easily won the title. The musical arrangements they brought to the stage and the array of instruments the young people play with ease, was certainly to be admired. Achill of Mayo lifted the title in Instrumental Music.

Mohill’s second act of the day was in Leiriu. With a funny sketch about school, A great performance was given by the young team, however, the winner was St Dominic’s of Roscommon. Aughnasheelan made a comeback in this year’s Set Dance competition. Having won the Connacht title in 2016 they were giving their all hoping to secure the same success once more but the title went to Abbeyknockmoy of Galway.

Kathy Butler, St Marys had one of the toughest jobs of the days hosting proceedings from the stage as the Bean an Tí. An honourable job she took on with ease. Assuring competitors side stage, keeping all acts moving in running order, and all before announcing each club on stage to perform. Gerry McGovern, Cathaoirleach Coiste Scór Connacht made a presentation of Galway crystal to Kathy in appreciation for her role for the day. An-mathKathy, fabulous job done, representing club, county & province.

The All-Ireland Finals will be held in the Knocknarea Arena, IT Sligo on February 17th at 3pm. Please note it is a ticket only event, tickets are priced at adult: €20, u16:€10. Family pass: €60 (2adults &2 children) Tickets once ordered are non-refundable. They can be ordered through; Claire Crossan 087-6472547. Or through club scor officers.  All orders must be placed by Friday January 19th.
Wishing – St Marys, Mohill, Ballinamore Sean O’Heslin’s and all of the Connacht winners the very best of luck at the All-Ireland final.

Connacht Scór na nÓg Winners:

Rince Foirne:   St Mary’s Leitrim

Amhranaíocht Aonair:   Amelia Pajak, Mohill, Leitrim

Ceol Uirlise:  Achill, Mayo

Aithriseoireacht:   Katie Heneghan, St Aidan’s, Roscommon

Bailéad Ghrúpa:   St Mary’s, Leitrim

Leiriu: St Dominics, Roscommon

Rince Seit:   Abbeyknockmoy, Galway

Trath na gCeist: Ballinamore Sean O’Heslin’s, Leitrim