Cloone GAA Club Notes 17/01/2018

AGM – The Club held a very successful Annual General Meeting in the clubhouse on Saturday evening last and a large crowd attended. Outgoing chairman Mickey Lohan gave a detailed chairperson’s address in which he highlighted the positive features from 2017. He complimented the work of the intermediate team under the excellent guidance of team manager Niall Murray. He thanked all the people who gave of their time in a voluntary capacity to attend to all the various duties that are needed to run the GAA club. Mickey did not seek re-election, and the club would like to thank Mickey for six outstanding years’ service to Cloone GAA in which he spearheaded many outstanding initiatives. Mickey is replaced by new chairman Liam Reynolds.
Outgoing secretary Martin McCaffrey also gave a very detailed report of the year’s activity in which he outlined the positive attitude among the players which resulted in a very enjoyable year. He thanked all the people who helped with the running of the club through the year without whose help the club could not run.
The financial report by outgoing treasure John Reynolds showed the club is in a reasonable financial state but renewed efforts with fundraising will have to be high on the agenda during 2018. John did not seek re-election and the club would like to thank John for all his efforts in fundraising and managing the clubs finance throughout the last number of years. John is replaced as treasurer by Gerry Keegan. The following is the officers for 2018, Chairman, Liam Reynolds Vice Chairman Seamus Maguire, Secretary Martin McCaffrey, Assistant Secretary, Alan Canning, Treasurer Gerry Keegan, PRO Gerry McGovern, ASAP Officer Seamus Maguire, Irish Officer Damian ó Braonáin, Registrar Seamus Maguire, Insurance Officer Adrian Nichols, Development officer Sean McGovern  Coaching Officer Niall Brennan, Children’s officer Marie McCrann, Assistant Children’s Officer Eamonn Cunningham, I.T. Officer Enda Tiernan, Co Board delegates Sean McGovern, Liam Reynolds, Mickey Lohan. Underage representative Kieran Casey. At the close of the meeting lifelong supporter Kevin Foley gave a rousing speech in he informed the gathering that it is sixty years since he attended his first Club meeting, and that this year marks sixty years this since the club had been reformed at a meeting in Dillon’s Egg Store in 1958, having out of action for a few years.
SYMPATHY – The club would like to extend its sympathy to the Reynolds family Gortletteragh on the recent death of TP Reynolds. TP played with Cloone winning a senior league in 1952, a year that Gortletteragh did not field a team. To his family and friends, we extend our sincere sympathy. The club would also like to extend a sincere sympathy to the Tubman family Fenagh on the sudden death of Eamonn. Eamonn was deeply involved in GAA matters in his beloved Club Fenagh St Caillins, was vice chairperson of Leitrim Co Board in that historic year of 1994 when Leitrim won the Connacht championship. Eamonn also had an association with our club as he was the joint manager, with our present PRO, of our amalgamated Minor team Eastern Harps which won the Leitrim Minor Championship in 1981. To his family, we extend our sincere sympathy on the passing of a great gentleman.
LEITRIM GAA SUPPORTERS DUBLIN LAUNCH – The annual launch of the Dublin branch of the Leitrim GAA Supporters Club will take place in the Celtic Suite in Croke Park on this Thursday evening starting at 7 30 p.m. Special guest on the night will be Marty Morrissey, our ever popular GAA broadcaster, and now star of ‘Dancing with the stars’ The supporters club will also be recognising three Leitrim legends who won Railway cup medals, sixty years ago in 1958. The three Packie McGarty, Columba Cryan, and Cathal Flynn will be present on the night, and no doubt many memories of the Leitrim performance in the famous 1958 Connacht Final and the winning of the Railway cup will be shared and recalled on the night. Leitrim GAA supporters are very proud of these living legends and no doubt a huge crowd will be present to honour them on the night. To cap off the night there will be entertainment provide by the ever popular traditional group GARADICE. This quartet included the ever popular Eleanor Shanley, Padraigh McGovern, Dave Sheridan, and John McCartin. This promises to be a huge night’s entertainment and it kick off the Leitrim GAA fundraising campaign for 2018. A free bus will be travelling to the event on the evening and the pickup times are as follows, Drumshanbo 4 15 pm,  Pairc Sean Mac Diarmada 4 40 pm, Bornacoola Gaa Grounds 5 pm. A night not to be missed.
This Wednesday evening we host the postponed Connacht FBD Game Leitrim V Sligo in the Park at 7 PM. This will be a big occasion for the club and all stewards are asked to be available in good time to assist with the running of this game. Leitrim will be hoping to get two points following their defeat to Galway in Clonbur on Sunday last, and it gives Team Manager Brendan Guckian another opportunity to look at more players prior to the first round of the national league against Antrim, in Antrim on next Sunday week.