Scór na mBunscoileanna agus Scór Sinsir 2018

Scór na mBunscoileanna – The Scór na mBunscoileanna took place in Cloone Community Hall last Friday 9th of March. Eleven schools took part and a staggering 254 children. The standards of performances were an absolute credit to the schools, parents and teachers, the children really promoted the culture and talent of the schools. Some very strong and youthful contenders to possibly go forward to Scór na nÓg next Autumn. Question Time was a tough competition with teams with top marks right to the end on both nights. Many thanks and credit to our Bean an Ti, Friday night was compered by St Marys Laura Crossan who kept the busy evening ticking over at a steady pace. Medals in each event were presented for first, second & third places. Very strong performances and big numbers in Solo Singing & Recitation, to which the judges also gave joint places unable to decide between some performances.
The Cormac Mac Giolla shield for the best school overall was won by Annaduff National School.

Tráth na gCeist
1.       St. Caillin’s Fenagh A & Annaduff A
2.       Gaelscoil Liatroma A/ Drumcong B/ St. Joseph’s Aughavas A

Rince Fóirne – Figure Dance
1.       Aughavas
2.       St. Manachan’s B
3.       Gaelscoil Liatroma

Amhránaíocht Aonair – Solo Singing
1.       St. Manachan’s Mohill
2.       Annaduff N.S.
3.       Gaelscoil Liatroma A & St. Joseph’s N.S., Leitrim Village A

Aithriseoireacht/Scéalaíocht – Recitation
1.       Annaduff N.S. B
2.       Scoil Muire
3.       St. Manachan’s Mohill B & Scoil Clann Naofa Ballinamore

Rince Seit – Set Dance
1.       Annaduff B
2.       Annaduff A

Léiriú Stáitse – Stage Play
1.       St. Manachan’s Mohill
2.       Scoil Muire, Carrick

Ceol Uirlise – Instrumental Music
1.       St. Joseph’s N.S., Leitrim Village
2.       St. Hugh’s N.S., Dowra
3.       Gaelscoil Liatroma

Ballad Group
1.       Annaduff N.S. B
2.       Gaelscoil Liatroma B
3.       Gaelscoil Liatroma A & St. Manachan’s Mohill

School of the Year – Annaduff N.S.

The County Final took place last Saturday, March 10th in the Mayflower, Drumshanbo. Carrigallen’s Aoife Ni Mhaille hosted the Senior table quiz final & Bean an Tí for the evening’s stage competition was St Mary’s Laura Crossan. Though disheartening not to have an entry for all 7, It was strong and very entertaining competition. Leitrim has a tradition at all Ireland level from past years for being strong in Figure, Leiriu and Music, disappointing to see no club entry for any of these on Saturday night. However, it was fantastic to have some familiar faces returning to Scór Liatroma aris. Maith sibh go Leir. The quiz was held in the full table quiz format prior to the stage competition. Bornacoola emerged the winners after a tight 10 rounds were complete. Bornacoola are now our Leitrim team for the 32 county All-Ireland final. It will be held on April 14th in the Clayton Hotel Sligo at 11am.

Leitrim County Medals were presented to the winners by Chairperson of Leitrim Coiste Scór Chairperson Claire Crossan.  Brid Sullivan from Ballinamore accepted the Cormac MacGiolla Shield for Club na Bliana, proudly presented by Ailbhe McGill, Bornacoola.
The Leitrim representatives will go onto compete for a Connacht title in St Johns Hall Lecarrow, Co Roscommon on bank holiday Monday 19th March at 4pm. Leitrim will be hoping for winners to take part in the All-Ireland final to be held at 3pm also on April 14th in the Knoacknarea Arena IT Sligo.

Rince Foirne – No Competitors
Solo Singing – Maureen Kron, Glencar/Manorhamilton
Recitation – Aidan Dockery, Bornacoola
Ballad Group – Aughnasheelan
Léiriú – No Competitors
Instrumental Music: No Competitors
Set Dance – Aughnasheelin

Club of the year 2018 – Sean O’Heslin’s Ballinamore