Gerry Reilly Under 16 Tournament-Leitrim finish campaign with another draw

Leitrim 2-11 Offaly 1-14

Leitrim’s Under 16 footballers concluded their Gerry Reilly Tournament campaign with another draw today following an entertaining and most competitive encounter with Offaly, played in Ferbane earlier this afternoon. They had also drawn with Louth on Saturday last in Páirc Seán Mac Diarmada on Saturday last.

The Leitrim lads settled into the match from an early stage and dominated the first half with some fine points from Barry McWeeney, Senan Harte, Cian Singleton, Jack Hughes and Conor Hackett, in addition to two well-executed goals finished to the net by Hackett and Shane Mallon. Tigerish defending kept the Offaly lads at bay and at the changeover the Leitrim boys held a 2-7 to 0-5 advantage.

In the proverbial game of two halves, it was the home side which enjoyed the better of the exchanges with some fine score-taking to claw back the lead and once they goaled at the midway point of the half they seemed to have taken a decisive hold on the game. However, the Leitrim lads got back into the groove and as the last quarter moved from end to end, they twice levelled matters to earn a share of the spoils with second-half scores coming from the boot of  Barry McWeeney (4) and the final equalising score from Conor Hackett.

Well done to these young lads in what was Leitrim’s first foray into this Leinster GAA organised tournament which is played in memory of Oldcastle youngster Gerry Reilly. The lads will play in the Tedd Webb Cup later in the month and the Fr. Manning Cup Competition in October.

Team: Aiden McCormack Kiltubrid, Niall Gallagher Aughnasheelin, Sean Lynch Carrigallen, Ryan Gallagher Drumkeerin, Ashley Mayiza St Mary’s Kiltoghert, Niall O Rourke Carrigallen, Cian Singleton St Mary’s Kiltoghert (0-1), Jack Hughes Annaduff (0-1), Shane O Brien Aughavas, Fergal McLoughlin Fenagh St Caillin’s, Eoin McLoughlin Fenagh-St Caillin’s, Conor Hackett St Mary’s Kiltoghert (1-1), Senan Harte Ballinamore Sean O Heslin’s (0-1), Shane Mallon Bornacoola (1-0), Barry McWeeney Kiltubrid (0-7).
Sub used: Eoghan Shanley Ballinamore Sean O Heslin’s.

Squad Members: Adrian Shortt Aughavas, Jack Faulkner Glencar/Manorhamilton, Aaron Moran Aughavas, Caolan McDermott Fenagh St Caillin’s, Darragh Fallon Drumkeerin, James Murphy Cloone, Shane Wrynn Leitrim Gaels, James Wrynn Fenagh St Caillin’s, Cormac White Mohill, Tom Reel Gortletteragh, Cathal McGourty Allen Gaels, Hugh Clancy Glenfarne/Kiltyclogher, Jamie McLoughlin St Patrick’s Dromahair.