Allen Gaels GAA Club Notes 14/11/2018

Annual Golf Classic – Allen Gaels Classic took place on Saturday November 3rd in very wet conditions despite this 12 teams played the course which was in great condition despite the weather. Special thanks to Jenny Duffy who prepared soup and sandwiches for the players after the round. The club would like to thank members from the Allen Gaels Golf Society who organised the event including Enda Mc Gloin, Declan Loftus and Aidan McKeon.

The Club extends their warm thanks to the McGuire family as main sponsors of the classic. Congratulations to Maureen, Jimmy and Danny Egan who accepted the ‘James McGuire Perpetual Cup’ presented by Barry McGuire as overall winners alongside 1st prize. Enda, Ray & Cathal McNamara came in second followed by Paul Martin, Paul O’Brien & Keith Tighe in third. Mary Ryan Leddy & Frank Mulvey won the nearest the pin prizes. A special thank you to our sponsors: Declan Loftus, Cara Pharmacy, AGGS, Ballinamore Golf Club, Enda Mc Gloin, PJ Rigney The Shed Distillery, Scollan’s Gala, Jenny Duffy, Gibbons Centra, Cllr. Brendan Barry, Henry’s Haven, Bo Peep Preserves, Little Wonders Montessori, Colin Foley Plumbing, Talk ‘n Tech Emmet Mahon, Monica’s Bar, Setia Construction, P. McManus Construction, Fergal McPartland.

U-16 Ladies – The girls had a good win at home to Keeldra Gaels on Saturday on a scoreline of 6-09 to 2-09. We play St. Brigids away this weekend so best of luck to Ciara, Sinead & the team.

Club AGM – The AGM will take place on Sunday November 25th at 4pm in the clubhouse. Anyone that wishes to make a nomination or put forward a motion for consideration can contact secretary, Sinead Dolan for forms.

St. Francis Ladies – The ladies will receive their intermediate championship medals in the Landmark on Saturday December 1st. Please contact Sinead or Ann for more details.

25 Card Drive – The card game continues in Aras Padraig every Sunday night at 8:30pm. All welcome.

Lotto – There was no winner of the lotto jackpot last week the numbers were 03-06-23-26. The prize winners of €20 each were: Sheila Tighe, Drumshanbo; Michael Rynn, Ballinaglera; Sarah Beckett, Jamestown; Sheila Foley, Drumshanbo; Sadhbh Gilrane, Ballinaglera. The jackpot now stands at €3,900.

Connacht Club Championship – Commiserations to Aughawillan as they fell short after a brave effort against Ballintubber in the Connacht Club semi final in Pairc Sean on Sunday.

Sympathy – The Club extends deepest condolences to the Kane Family, on the sad passing of Marian’s sister, Ann Candon, who was laid to rest in Ballinafad during the week.