Fr. Manning Cup – Leitrim v Clare

Under 16 Fr. Manning Cup Saturday 9th April

LEITRIM  4-12   CLARE  2-8

Leitrim Under 16’s kicked off their 2022 Fr. Manning Cup campaign in fine style with a convincing 10 point over the Banner County at the Leitrim Centre of Excellence on Saturday.   Key to this victory was a fast start by the home team who raced into an early lead that was never surrendered over the 60 minutes.   In a hardworking team display, Leitrim had early points through Adam Reynolds and Adam Gethins before Senan Mooney scored the first of his 3 goals to give Leitrim an early 5 point lead. Clare added 2 points to reduce the gap before Leitrim hit a purple patch adding 1-6 in 10 minutes to establish a significant lead.   Points from Noah McNulty, Adam Reynolds (2), Adam Gethins, Cian Reynolds and a goal and a point by Senan Mooney left Leitrim well clear approaching half time.   Clare staged a mini revival tagging on 4 points to their total but it was left to Adam Gethins to complete the first half scoring with a fine point leaving the half time score Leitrim 2-9 Clare 0-6.
Any hopes of a Clare comeback were quickly put to bed when Leitrim added a well taken point by Brian Keaney.   Senan Mooney then completed his hat trick with another well taken goal before Adam Gethins finished off a great team move with a composed finish to the net.   Both teams exchanged the next 4 points with Cian Reynolds (fisted effort) and Adam Gethins (well struck 45) completing Leitrim’s total for the day.   Leitrim won’t be happy how they closed out the game, missing a number of opportunities before coughing up 2 goals to Clare in the final 3 minutes.   All in all, Leitrim will be happy with their display where all players made good contributions to the team performance.   Next up for Leitrim is an away game to Sligo on Saturday the 7th of May.
LEITRIM Team and Scorers:
Darragh Lee; Tomas Mayock; Frank Cullen; Tommy Reen; David Liu Doyle; Colm McLoughlin; Cian Reynolds (0-2); Adam Gethins (1-4); Josh McNamee; Evan Kilrane; Noah McNulty (0-1); Adam Reynolds (0-3); Senan Mooney (3-1); Cathal McCarthy; Cian Casey. SUBS: Brian Keaney (0-1); Liam Crowe; James Shanley.